Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

SPC 1608 (Morris): Databases

A guide to help students find research for speeches in Professor Morris' Fundamentals of Speech course at the Osceola Campus

Accessing Databases

To access the databases to the right, log into your Atlas account and click the "Search the Library" link in the lower right corner on the "Courses" tab. Once the library catalog opens, you will see the "Databases A-Z" Link in the top center of the page, above the search box. Then find the database you want in the alphabetical list, and connect. Click the icon below to access the Atlas login page.

At times you may be prompted to log into the library site using a borrower ID and PIN. Use your VID number (with the V) as the borrower ID. Your PIN is the last four digits of your VID number.

 

 

Databases

General Databases

 

Academic Search Complete is a multi-disciplinary database with access to articles from many different disciplines such as Literature, Health, Science, Business, and more.

 

Biography in Context provides an online experience for those seeking contextual information on the world's most influential people. The database includes periodicals and multimedia organized into a user-friendly portal experience while also allowing users to search for people based on name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, or gender as well as keyword and full text.

 

 

JSTOR is a database including articles in the Humanities, Arts, and social sciences.

 

Current Issues Databases

 Image result for opposing viewpoints in context

Opposing Viewpoints in Context is an online database that focuses on popular social issues. It features continuously updated viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to web sites on a variety of topics.

Career Databases

Fergusons Career Guidance Center provides career research assistance from Facts on File's Encyclopedia of Careers and Vocational Guidance and Career Opportunities, as well as archived issues of the journal Career Opportunities News.

 

 Health Databases

 

Image result for health and wellness resource center

Health and Wellness  offers access to full-text nursing and allied health journals, internet web sites, encyclopedias and other reference sources.

 

Salem Health is a health database containing articles from the print version of Magill's Medical Guide. This will be a helpful reference for any disease or health-related research.

 

Image result for cinahl

CINAHL provides full-text access to more than 560 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health, including biomedicine, alternative medicine, consumer health, and 17 allied health disciplines.

 

Related image

PsycArticles provides full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. It contains more than 100,000 articles from 59 journals ranging in date from 1894 to the present.

 

Literature Databases

 

Artemis Literary Sources (Gale) integrates full-text literary content with metadata and subject indexing and provides workflow tools to analyze information. You can research authors and their works, literary movements and genres. Search across your library's Literature databases to find full text of literary works, journal articles, literature criticism, reviews, biographical information and overviews.

 

 Image result for literary reference center plus

Literary Reference Center Plus is a full text database that includes plot summaries, overviews, literary criticism, author biographies, literary journal articles, book reviews, author interviews, images, and full text poems, short stories, and novels.

 

History Databases

 American History has information from the explorers of the Americas to the gripping issues in today’s headlines, American History investigates the people, events, and stories of our nation’s evolution.

 

History Reference Center offers full text from more than 750 history reference books and encyclopedias, and cover-to-cover full text from nearly 60 history magazines. The database also contains 58,000 historical documents; 43,000 biographies of historical figures; more than 12,000 historical photos and maps; and 87 hours of historical film and video.

 

 

Salem History contains online versions of serveral print reference series such as the Decades series, Milestone Documents, Great Lives from History, and Great Events from History.

 

http://saratogahighlibrary.weebly.com/uploads/9/7/5/2/9752060/5220693_orig.png

World History: The Modern Era is a comprehensive database that contains information and unique insights. From the ongoing crises in the Middle East to civil strife across Africa to the vestiges of communism in China, South Korea, and Cuba, this database sets the stage of a world where current conflicts have deep historical roots.