Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Valencia Writer - ENC1101: Databases For Essay Assignments

Accessing Databases

To access the databases to the right, log into your Atlas account and click the "Search the Library" link in the upper right corner on the "My Atlas" tab. Once the library catalog opens, you will see the "Databases A-Z" Link in the top center of the page, above the search box. Then find the database you want in the alphabetical list, and connect. Click the icon below to access the Atlas login page.

At times you may be prompted to log into the library site using a borrower ID and PIN. Use your VID number (with the V) as the borrower ID. Your PIN is the last four digits of your VID number.

 

Helpful Databases

Database Logo for Opposing Viewpoints

Opposing Viewpoints in Context is an online database for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. It features continuously updated viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to web sites.

 

Database Logo for Global Issues in Context

Global Issues in Context offers global perspectives on issues of international importance and current world events and topics in the news related to these issues. Not a pro and con database, Global Issues in Context ties together a variety of sources to present a rich analysis of issues – social, political, military, economic, environmental, science related, health related, cultural – and headlines in world hot spots.

 

Database logo for Points of View Reference Center

Points of View Reference Center is a database designed to assist researchers in understanding the full scope of a wide range of controversial subjects. It features a series of full-text essays representing opposing viewpoints on a variety of important issues.

 

Database logo for Issues: Understanding Controversy and Society

Issues: Understanding Controversy and Society offers articles on a number of controversial issues, including topics such as adoption, dieting, family issues, euthanasia, free speech and censorship, and many more.

 

Database logo for Facts On File Issues & Controversies

Issues and Controversies offers a wealth of current topics research information, including pro/con discussions of hot issues, newspaper editorials, numerical snapshots of key topics, photos and graphics, and selected historical source documents.

Other Databases

Database logo for Academic Search Complete

Academic Search Complete is a multi-disciplinary database with access to articles from many different disciplines such as Literature, Health, Science, Business, and more.

 

Database logo for NewsBank

Access World News is the most comprehensive collection of full-text newspapers globally, and provides extensive coverage of news at any level—local, state, regional, national and international. You can also look at articles solely from the Orlando Sentinel.