Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Valencia College libraries do not welcome solicitation of resources to be added to our LibGuides. This includes but is not limited to vendors, search engine optimizers, placement of ads, products, or any other requests. Our LibGuides are carefully curated resources developed in partnership with faculty, staff, and students to support specific assignments, courses, events, and other related purposes at Valencia College. The Valencia libraries reserve the right to ignore LibGuide resource solicitations, and/or block persistent requests from groups or individuals to add or promote links in our LibGuides.
Comprehensive OER Resources
About Writing: A Guide (OpenOregon)
This writer’s reference condenses and covers everything a beginning writing student needs to successfully compose college-level work, including the basics of composition, grammar, and research. It is broken down into easy-to-tackle sections, while not overloading students with more information than they need. Great for any beginning writing students or as reference for advanced students!
English Composition 1 (Lumencandela)
English Composition I develops students’ critical reading, writing, and research skills at the college level, with course materials structured around essential parts of the academic writing process. Key topics include reading strategies; rhetorical modes, multiple stages of the writing process; how to conduct research and cite relevant sources; grammar and mechanics; and success strategies. Engaging, curated OER content includes text, video, interactive self-check activities, and more.
English Composition I Rhetorical Methods-Based (Lumen Learning)
Develops students’ writing at the college level, using materials organized around essential parts of the academic writing process. Key topics include rhetorical situations; the editing process; types and modes of academic writing; the research process; citation practices; informative and persuasive writing.
ENGL 101 Rhetoric and Composition (Bay College Open Textbook)
Adapted from Writing for Success and Edited by Amber Kinonen, Jennifer McCann, Todd McCann, and Erica Mead. This is a comprehensive resource on the writing process and diverse rhetorical modes to assist in composing college essays. As a complete writing resource, this book offers ample of examples and exercises.
Introduction to Writing – Skowronek (Lumen Learning)
An introductory resource to basic grammar and the writing process.
Kirkman Reader (Valencia College)
Valencia College professors at the West Campus have assembled this collection of free readings and videos for students enrolled in freshman composition.
The essays and videos are organized by pattern, point of view, and theme. Discussion questions and essay prompts are available for each piece.
Let's Get Writing! (Open Textbook Library)
This introduction is designed to exemplify how writers think about and produce text. The guiding features are the following:
1/ Every good piece of writing is an argument.
Everything worth writing and reading begins with a specific question. 2/ Improving skills takes practice, feedback, and re-thinking, redoing, revising.
Oregon Writes Open Writing Text (OpenOregon)
This textbook guides students through rhetorical and assignment analysis, the writing process, researching, citing, rhetorical modes, and critical reading. Guided by Oregon's statewide college writing outcomes, this book collects previously published articles, essays, and chapters released under Creative Commons licenses into one free textbook available for online access or print-on-demand.
Rhetoric and Composition (WIKIBOOKS)
This Wikibook is designed for use as a textbook in first-year college composition programs, written as a practical guide for students struggling to bring their writing up to the level expected of them by their professors and instructors. For more detail, see the Introduction chapter.
Successful College Composition (3rd ed) University System of Georgia
This text is a transformation of Writing for Success, a text adapted by The Saylor Foundation under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 License. This is a comprehensive resource focusing on the writing process, rhetorical modes, research writing, and grammar.
Thematic Reading Anthology (Lumen Learning)
This anthology is a curated collection of openly licensed primary texts, organized thematically, designed to be used as a reader in English composition courses. Includes personal essays, literature, video and audio files, Web writings, and long-form journalism, along with customizable assignments and instructor resources.
Writing in College by Amy Guptill (Open SUNY)
Writing in College: From Competence to Excellence is designed for students who have largely mastered the conventions of high-school level writing and are now rising to meet more the advanced expectations of college. Students will find in Writing in College a warm invitation to think of themselves as full, self-motivated members of the academic community. With concise explanations, clear multi-disciplinary examples and empathy for the challenges of student life, this short textbook both explains the purposes behind college-level writing and offers indispensable advice for organization and expression.
Writing for Success (The Saylor Foundation)
Writing for Success is a text that provides instruction in steps, builds writing, reading, and critical thinking, and combines comprehensive grammar review with an introduction to paragraph writing and composition. Beginning with the sentence and its essential elements, this book addresses each concept with clear, concise, and effective examples that are immediately reinforced with exercises and opportunities to demonstrate learning.
The Word on College Writing (Monique Babin et al)
Written by five college reading and writing instructors, this interactive, multimedia text draws from decades of experience teaching students who are entering the college reading and writing environment for the very first time. It includes examples, exercises, and definitions for just about every reading and writing related topic you will encounter in your college courses.
Textbook-Content Comparative Chart