Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ENC 1102 - Wycha (East Campus): Databases

Research Unit

Online Sources

Books and ComputerValencia College Library provides a number of useful databases when researching academic topics. You may log into the library from your Atlas account (Search the Library) and search for information through the LINCCWeb site (searching all the databases) or you can choose to go to the Databases A-Z section and focus on one database at a time. The recommended databases for finding biographical information on your author are listed below.  

Databases

Click on any of the database icons below to access the database. Please note that if you did not log in to the library databases through Atlas, you will be prompted to enter a Borrower ID and pin to access these databases. The Borrower ID is your VID number (including the V) and your pin is the last four digits of your VID number.

 

  Biography In Context (Also Known as Gale In Context: Biography)

 

Biography In Context contains over 700,000 entries on more than 400,000 international people including authors, scientists, celebrities, and more.
 

 Bloom's Literature 

Bloom's Literature has a wide ranging selection of biographies on various authors. Search for your author and limit your results to biography or you may use the author index. 

 

 
 Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete (Gale)

The Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete contains biographical essays on more than 12,000 authors. 

 

  Gale Literature

Gale Literature contains biographical information as well as critical analysis, literary movements and genre coverage.

 

 

 

  Literary Reference Center Plus     (EBSCO)  

 

Literary Reference Center is a full text database that combines information from major respected reference works, books, literary journals as well as original content from EBSCO Publishing . This resource includes 130,000 author biographies.

 

 

  

 Literature Criticism Online (Gale)


Literature Criticism Online
is a comprehensive resource dedicated to literary biographies and criticisms for authors form antiquity to the present.

 

   undefined Ebook Central (ProQuest) 

Browse, read, download and annotate over 150,000 full-text ebooks.

 

 Salem Press 

Collection of online reference books with a heavy focus on authors and critical insights into their works. 

Do I use "scholarly" or "popular" articles?

When searching for articles, ask your professor if scholarly articles are required or if you can use popular articles.  Watch the video below to find out what's different about these types of articles.