Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

SYG 2000 (Simone): Databases

This guide assists students in SYG2000 with finding peer-reviewed articles for their research assignment.

Accessing Databases

To access the library catalog, log into your Atlas account and click the "Search the Library" link on the left side of the "My Atlas" tab. The library catalog will open in a new window. From this page, do a simple keyword search, or click "Advanced Search" for more options. 

At times you may be prompted to log into the library site using a borrower ID and PIN. Use your VID number (with the V) as the borrower ID. Your PIN is the last four digits of your VID number.

Helpful Databases

Academic Search Complete is a multi-disciplinary database with access to articles from many different disciplines.

 

Image result for jstor

JSTOR has access to back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Over 700 titles available.

 

PsycArticles is a great place to find studies conducted about various aspects of family life, personality and deviant behavior.

 

Image result for proquest criminal justice 

 Criminal Justice (ProQuest) covers a wide variety of criminal justice topics, including corrections administration, law enforcement, social work, industrial security, drug rehabilitation, and criminal and family law. Full-text and image coverage for about 50 journals.

 

Global Issues in Context offers global perspectives on issues of international importance and current world events and topics in the news related to these issues. Global Issues in Context ties together a variety of sources to present a rich analysis of issues and headlines in world hot spots.

Opposing Viewpoints in Context is an online database for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. It features continuously updated viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to websites.

 

Points of View Reference Center is a database designed to assist researchers in understanding the full scope of a wide range of controversial subjects. It features a series of full-text essays representing opposing viewpoints on a variety of important issues.

 

What is a Peer-Reviewed Article?

What is a Peer-Reviewed Article?

Some academic journal articles found in the library databases are peer-reviewed, or refereed. These scholarly articles are written by experts and reviewed by other experts to ensure quality and accuracy. After a successful peer review, the article is then published for the public to access. 

How can I tell if an article is peer-reviewed?

  • Some databases, like Academic Search Complete or PsycArticles, allow you to limit your search results to "Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Articles"
  • Consider visual cues. Is the article split into headings like Method, Results, Conclusion? Does the article look professional with little to no advertising? These are good signs it could be scholarly.
  • Visit the journal's web site to see if it mentions being peer-reviewed or refereed. If you click the journal title within some databases, it will give you a link to the journal publisher's web site.
  • Can't find any information on the journal web site? Look for links referring to submission criteria, or information for referees. 

 

‚ÄčNot all content from a peer-reviewed journal is reviewed. Articles like editorials, book reviews, and letters to the editor are not considered peer-reviewed articles.