Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

SPC 1608 (Paradise): Finding Articles in Library Databases

A guide to help students complete library research in Professor Paradise's speech class.

Accessing Databases

Log into your Atlas account and click the "Search the Library" link in the Libraries box in the "My Atlas" tab to access the databases below. Once the library catalog opens, you will see the "Databases A-Z" link in the top center of the page, above the search box. Next, find the database you want to search in the alphabetical list, and connect. Click the icon below to access the Atlas login page.

Searching the Library Databases

Searching the library databases is very different than searching Google. To see an example of how to search a database, view the video below. The database highlighted in the video is called Academic Search Complete. It shows how to search using keywords as well as contains information on citing databases in MLA format.

This second video contains additional keyword searching information in the Academic Search Complete databases. It shows how to expand your search using your keywords as well as your synonyms or related terms. There is also an example of how to expand your search adding additional subject-specific databases.

Multi-Disciplinary Databases

Academic Search Complete is a multi-disciplinary database with access to articles from many different disciplines such as Literature, Health, Science, Business, and more.

 

Image result for academic one file

Academic OneFile (Gale) provides peer-reviewed, full-text articles from leading journals and reference sources. Includes coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and, other subjects.

Current Events Databases

Opposing Viewpoints in Context is an online database for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. It features continuously updated viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files, and links to websites.

 

 

Issues and Controversies offers a wealth of current topics research information, including pro/con discussions of hot issues, newspaper editorials, numerical snapshots of key topics, photos and graphics, and selected historical source documents.

Subject Specific Databases

Health and Wellness Resource Center offers access to full-text nursing and allied health journals, encyclopedias, and other reference sources

 

Education Source provides scholarly research and information to meet the needs of education students, professionals, and policymakers. It covers all levels of education from early childhood to higher education as well as all educational specialties such as multilingual education, health education, and testing.

 

Educator's Reference Complete provides full text for titles in the Eric database and covers multiple levels of education from preschool to college, and every educational specialty--such as technology, bilingual education, health education, and testing. It also provides insight on issues in administration, funding, and policy.

 

Business Source Complete contains full-text journal articles, financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses, and more.