It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Communications and Writing Center Resources: Communications
A guide for the West Campus Communication and Writing Center.
Useful when researching literature.Search by author or title.
Literary Reference Center Plus (EBSCO)Literary Reference Center is a rich full-text literary database covering all genres and timeframes of literature. It includes thousands of synopses, critical essays, book reviews, literary journals and author biographies, plus full-text classic novels, short stories and poems.
Funded by: Statewide Allocation
JSTORAccess back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Over 700 titles available.
This site will link to statistics pages at many different government agencies. Browse by topic to find the agency that publishes the statistics you need.
CQ Researcher (CQ Press)Designed for researchers seeking original, comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues in the news. 44 reports on "hot" issues produced yearly, including four expanded reports. Includes charts, graphs and sidebar articles. Also contains the complete archive of Editorial Research Reports—the venerable precursor to CQ Researcher—dating back to 1923 which includes over 3,000 in-depth reports
Funded by: Statewide Allocation
Issues and Controversies (Infobase Publishing)Offers a wealth of current topics research information, including pro/con discussions of hot issues, newspaper editorials, numerical snapshots of key topics, photos and graphics, and selected historical source documents.
Funded by: College
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context)Online experience for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. Features continuously updated viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
Funded by: Statewide Allocation
Global Issues (Gale in Context) (Gale)Offers global perspectives on issues of international importance and current world events and topics in the news related to these issues. Not a pro and con database, Global Issues in Context ties together a variety of sources to present a rich analysis of issues – social, political, military, economic, environmental, science, health, cultural – and headlines in world hot spots.
Funded by: College (FALSC Group License)
The Valencia College libraries do not welcome solicitation of resources to be added to our LibGuides. This includes but is not limited to vendors, search engine optimizers, placement of ads, products, or any other requests. Our LibGuides are carefully curated resources developed in partnership with faculty, staff, and students to support specific assignments, courses, events, and other related purposes at Valencia College. The Valencia libraries reserve the right to ignore LibGuide resource solicitations, and/or block persistent requests from groups or individuals to add or promote links in our LibGuides.
