Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

PSY 2861 (Hogan) - Positive Psychology: Databases

A guide to help students conduct research in Professor Hogan's Positive Psychology course online at Valencia College

Accessing Databases

To Access the Library Databases:

Atlas Login Button

1. Click on logo above to log in to Atlas.

2. Go to the My Atlas Tab.

3. Click Search the Library (left hand side).

 

Sometimes you may be prompted to log into the library site using a borrower ID and PIN. Use your VID number (with the V) as the borrower ID. Your PIN is the last four digits of your VID number.

How do I Identify an Original Research Study?

Many Psychology assignments require you to find original research studies to use in your research. An original research study article is an article from the library databases that presents research that is based on actual observations or experiments conducted by the author. 

 

How can I tell if an article is an original research study?

  • Check the source: Empirical articles are usually found in scholarly journals, not magazines or newspapers. Journals like Genetics and Animal Biology both publish studies that are empirical.
  • Read the abstract (summary): If it mentions any study, questionnaires, participants, or measurements that the author conducted, it is empirical.
  • Format: Many empirical articles are broken down into sections, such as "Methodology", "Results", and "Conclusion". Finding these or similar headings in an article is a good indication that it involves a study or experiment.
  • Length: Empirical articles are usually very lenghty, at least 5 pages.
  • References: Does the article have references listed at the end? Scholarly researchers have to cite their sources, just like you!

Psychology/Medical Databases

The databases below are focused on Psychology or Medicine, and are the best starting points for researching psychology topics. 

 

    APA PsycArticles provides full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology.  It contains more than 100,000 articles from 59 journals.  Coverage spans 1984-present.

 

 

Gale One File Psychology provides access to academic journals and magazines that cover the study of emotions, personality, and the human mind.

 


Medline with Full Text has full-text journal articles for nearly 1,200 journals with coverage dating back to 1965. Includes information from a broad spectrum of medical fields, such as nursing, psychology, psychiatry, and psychotherapy.

 

CINAHL provides full-text access to more than 1,300 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health. This database can be helpful in finding articles or studies related to the treatment of mental health issues.

 

DSM-V Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, 5th Edition:

DSM-V is a database containing an electronic version of the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, 5th Edition.

 

 

Multi-Disciplinary Databases

Multi-Disciplinary databases contain articles from many different subjects. All databases below may contain some information on Psychology topics, but do not focus solely on Psychology.

 

Academic Search Complete is a multi-disciplinary database with access to full-text articles from many different disciplines such as Literature, Health, Science, Business, and more.

 

Image result for academic one file

Academic OneFile provides peer-reviewed, full-text articles from leading journals and reference sources. Includes coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and, other subjects.

 

JSTOR is a database that houses full-text articles in the sciences and social sciences.

 

Proquest includes five databases with full-text articles and eBooks: ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times (1851-2016), Coronavirus Research Database, Criminal Justice Database, eBook Central, and Publicly Available Content Database (a collection of full text information that is publicly available from sources from all over the world).

 

 

Sage Journals is the world’s 5th largest journals publisher. SAGE includes more than 645 journals spanning the Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology, and Medicine. 

 

Springer eJournal Collection  provides full text access in a variety of topics, including mathematics, economics, ecology, religion, history and more.

Video Databases

The databases below contain full documentary and educational videos that can be used for scholarly research.

 

Image result for films on demand

Films on Demand contains streaming video from large and small production companies covering a wide range of subjects including psychology.

 

Kanopy Streaming Video contains streaming videos from a number of production companies on a wide variety of topics.