Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Criminal Justice Osceola: Databases

Accessing Databases

There are two ways to access the databases at Valencia College Libraries:

1) Log into your Atlas account and click the "Search the Library" link in the upper right corner of the "Courses" tab. When the Library Catalog page opens, you will already be logged in.

2) Start at any Valencia Web Page and select Libraries on Quick Links. You will need to login now. The Login button is at the top right corner of the screen. To do that you will need to enter your VID Valencia Identification number (your "V" number) including the "V" in the box for Borrower's ID. Your PIN will be the last 4 digits of your "V" number.

Once the Library Catalog opens and you are logged in, you can choose the database you want either from the “Databases A-Z” tab or from the “Databases by Subject” tab. These are located at the top above the catalog. When you find the database you want in the list, click on it to connect.

*** NOTE *** Sometimes you may be prompted to use your Borrower ID and PIN to access an article that has been emailed or posted. Use your VID Valencia Identification number (with the V) as the Borrower's ID. Your PIN is the last four digits of your VID number.

Criminal Justice/Social Science Databases

The databases below are focused on Criminal Justice / Social Science and are good starting points for researching criminal justice topics.

ProQuest Criminal Justice is a comprehensive database supporting research on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as litigation and crime trends.

APA citation examples for ProQuest Criminal Justice

 

Image result for info Trac criminal justice

InfoTrac Criminal Justice eCollection (Gale) is a comprehensive periodical collection supporting criminal justice.

APA citation examples for InfoTrac Criminal Justice

 

Image result for legal periodicals and books ebsco

Legal Periodicals & Books (EBSCO) is a database that provides international coverage and access to scholarly articles, symposia, jurisdictional surveys, court decisions, legislation, books, book reviews, and more.

APA citation examples for Legal Periodicals & Books

 

Image result for lexisnexis logo

LexisNexis Academic is a full-text database with access to a wide range of news, business, legal, and reference information. It contains federal, state & international legal materials along with corporate news & financial information, and more.

APA citation examples for LexisNexis

 

PsycArticles provides full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. It contains more than 100,000 articles from 59 journals ranging in date from 1894 to the present.

APA citation examples for PsycArticles 

Multi-Disciplinary Databases

Multi-Disciplinary databases contain articles from many different subjects. All databases below will contain some information on Criminal Justice topics.

 

Academic Search Complete is a multi-disciplinary database with access to articles from many different disciplines such as Social Science, Health, Science, Business, and more.

 APA citation examples for Academic Search Complete

 

Image result for academic one file

 

Academic OneFile provides peer-reviewed, full-text articles from leading journals and reference sources. Includes coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and, other subjects.

APA citation examples for Academic OneFile

 

Controversial Topic Databases

Opposing Viewpoints in Context is an online database for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. It features continuously updated viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to web sites.

 

Issues and Controversies offers a wealth of current topics research information, including pro/con discussions of hot issues, newspaper editorials, numerical snapshots of key topics, photos and graphics, and selected historical source documents.

 

Global Issues ~ Gale In Context

Global Issues in Context offers global perspectives on issues of international importance and current world events and topics in the news related to these issues. Not a pro and con database, Global Issues in Context ties together a variety of sources to present a rich analysis of issues – social, political, military, economic, environmental, science related, health related, cultural – and headlines in world hot spots.

 

Points of View Reference Center EBSCO Button

Points of View Reference Center is a database designed to assist researchers in understanding the full scope of a wide range of controversial subjects. It features a series of full-text essays representing opposing viewpoints on a variety of important issues.

 

Issues: Understanding Controversy and Society offers articles on a number of controversial issues, including topics such as adoption, dieting, family issues, euthanasia, free speech and censorship, and many more.

 

 

Newspaper Databases

Streaming Videos

Career Databases

The Valencia College libraries do not welcome solicitation of resources to be added to our LibGuides. This includes but is not limited to vendors, search engine optimizers, placement of ads, products, or any other requests. Our LibGuides are carefully curated resources developed in partnership with faculty, staff, and students to support specific assignments, courses, events, and other related purposes at Valencia College. The Valencia libraries reserve the right to ignore LibGuide resource solicitations, and/or block persistent requests from groups or individuals to add or promote links in our LibGuides.