Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HUM 2234 (Gualtieri) - Research Paper: Databases

This guide is designed to help students with library research as they complete their research paper for Professor Gualtieri's Enlightenment and Romanticism class at the Osceola Campus.

Accessing Databases

To access the databases below, log into your Atlas account and click the "Search the Library" link on the right hand side of the "My Courses" tab. Once the library catalog opens, you will see the "Databases A-Z" Link in the top center of the page, above the search box. Then find the database you want in the alphabetical list, and connect. Click the icon below to access the Atlas login page.

You can also access databases by clicking the green "Databases" box below and logging in using your VID number. Your PIN is the last four digits of your VID number. From there, you can select the "Databases A-Z" option, find the database you want, and connect. Make sure you also select "Valencia College" from the dropdown menu. Click the icon below to log into the library's databases using your borrower ID and PIN.

Clicking the database links within this guide without logging into Atlas will require you to log in using your VID.

Best Bets

The databases below have been chosen as the most appropriate to help you with the individual artist project:

Biography Databases

Biography in Context provides an online experience for those seeking contextual information on the world's most influential people. The database includes periodicals and multimedia organized into a user-friendly portal experience while also allowing users to search for people based on name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, or gender as well as keyword and full text. This database will help you obtain background information on artists, composers, philosophers, and more.

Multi-Disciplinary Databases

Humanities Source includes over 500 English-language periodicals covering literature and language, history, philosophy, archaeology, classical studies, folklore, gender studies, performing arts, history, religion and theology. This database could help you research your artist, art movements, and art criticisms.

 

Academic Search Complete is a multi-disciplinary database with access to articles from many different disciplines such as Literature, Health, Science, Business, and more. You will be able to find general information on your artist here, as well as some information on the art movements.

 

JSTOR is a database including articles in the Humanities, Arts, and social sciences. This database should help you search for information on your art movement, as well as criticism on your featured work of art.

 

Art Databases

Oxford Art Online provides web access to the text of The Dictionary of Art, which covers all aspects of the visual arts of every civilization from prehistory to the 1990s.

Art & Architecture Complete is a database for the study of art and architecture. This database will help you research background information on your artist, their art movement, and even criticisms on specific works of art.

Art Image Databases

The ARTstor Digital Library Charter Collection is a repository of hundreds of thousands of digital images and related data. This database will help you find images to use in your PowerPoint presentation.

Literary Databases

Image result for artemis literary sources

Artemis Literary Sources provides students and other researchers with single-search access to an assortment of traditional literary reference works, critical information on authors and their works, current journal articles, and other additional resources. Full-text access to biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline.

 

Literary Reference Center Plus is a full text database that includes plot summaries, overviews, literary criticism, author biographies, literary journal articles, book reviews, author interviews, images, and full text poems, short stories, and novels.

 

The Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete provides online versions of Gale's print literature archive resources, including Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online, Literature Criticism Online, and Something About the Author Online. These award-winning and long-standing literature series are delivered in an easy-to-use 24/7 online format.

 

 

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Jenna Settles
Contact:
Osceola Campus
407-582-4853
The Valencia College libraries do not welcome solicitation of resources to be added to our LibGuides. This includes but is not limited to vendors, search engine optimizers, placement of ads, products, or any other requests. Our LibGuides are carefully curated resources developed in partnership with faculty, staff, and students to support specific assignments, courses, events, and other related purposes at Valencia College. The Valencia libraries reserve the right to ignore LibGuide resource solicitations, and/or block persistent requests from groups or individuals to add or promote links in our LibGuides.