Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

SPC1608 Speech (Marsh): Databases

This guide is designed to assist Professor Marsh's SPC 1608 Speech class at Osceola Campus with Library Resources.

Accessing Databases

To access the databases to the right, log into your Atlas account and click the "Search the Library" link in the upper left corner on the "My Atlas" tab. Once the library catalog opens, you will see the "Databases A-Z" Link in the top center of the page, above the search box. Then find the database you want in the alphabetical list, and connect. Click the icon below to access the Atlas login page.

At times you may be prompted to log into the library site using a borrower ID and PIN. Use your VID number (with the V) as the borrower ID. Your PIN is the last four digits of your VID number.

 

Cheryl Ann's Top 10 Databases

 

General

1~Academic Search Complete

Biographies

2~Biography in Context

Current Events/ Controversial Topics

3~ Opposing Viewpoints

Health/Medical

4~ Health & Wellness Resource Center

Career

5~ Fergusons Career Guidance Center

Pop Culture

6~ Pop Culture Universe

Art

7~Oxford Art Online

Country Information

8~ Global Road Warrior

History

9~World History (ABC-CLIO)

Literature

10~Literary Reference Center Plus & Artemis TIE

Multi-Disciplinary Databases

Academic Search Complete is a multi-disciplinary database with access to articles from many different disciplines such as Literature, Health, Science, Business, and more.

Biography Databases

Biography in Context provides an online experience for those seeking contextual information on the world's most influential people. The database includes periodicals and multimedia organized into a user-friendly portal experience while also allowing users to search for people based on name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, or gender as well as keyword and full text.

Pop Culture Universe is an authoritative, yet irresistible, digital library of information on American and world popular culture, past and present (from 1900 to current times). This database is a good resource for 20th century icons.

Medical Databases

Health and Wellness Resource Center offers access to full-text nursing and allied health journals, encyclopedias and other reference sources

MedLine Full Text stores full text for nearly 1,200 journals with coverage dating back to 1965. Authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, health care system, and much more is accessible. MedLine is created by the National Library of Medicine.

Art & Humanities Databases

Oxford Art Online provides web access to the text of The Dictionary of Art, which covers all aspects of the visual arts of every civilization from prehistory to the 1990s.

 

 

Art Full Text contains full text articles, plus abstracts and indexing of an international array of peer-selected publications, with expanded coverage of Latin American, Canadian, Asian and other non-Western art, new artists, contemporary art, exhibition reviews, and feminist criticism. This database will also help you find some artist and movement information, as well as more detailed information on specific works of art.

 

Literature Databases

The following databases will help you find author biographies, plot summaries, literary criticisms, reference articles in full-text for many works of literature and more:

 

Literature Resources from Gale provides students and other researchers with single-search access to an assortment of traditional literary reference works, critical information on authors and their works, current journal articles, and other additional resources. Full-text access to biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline.

 

Literary Reference Center Plus is a full text database that includes plot summaries, overviews, literary criticism, author biographies, literary journal articles, book reviews, author interviews, images, and full text poems, short stories, and novels.

 

Hot Topic Databases

The following databases will help you find reference information, statistics and viewpoints on current topics, hot topics or controversial issues.

 

 

Opposing Viewpoints in Context is an online database for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. It features continuously updated viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to web sites.

 

Global Issues in Context offers global perspectives on issues of international importance and current world events and topics in the news related to these issues. Not a pro and con database, Global Issues in Context ties together a variety of sources to present a rich analysis of issues – social, political, military, economic, environmental, science related, health related, cultural – and headlines in world hot spots.

 

Points of View Reference Center is a database designed to assist researchers in understanding the full scope of a wide range of controversial subjects. It features a series of full-text essays representing opposing viewpoints on a variety of important issues.

 

Issues: Understanding Controversy and Society offers articles on a number of controversial issues, including topics such as adoption, dieting, family issues, euthanasia, free speech and censorship, and many more.

 

Issues and Controversies offers a wealth of current topics research information, including pro/con discussions of hot issues, newspaper editorials, numerical snapshots of key topics, photos and graphics, and selected historical source documents.

 

 

Librarian Osceola Campus

Cheryl Ann Livingston's picture
Cheryl Ann Livingston
Contact:
Reference Desk 321-697-4154

Office 321-697-4957

Helpful Search Tips

  • injur* will retrieve resources with any words beginning "injur" such as injury, injuries, injure, injured, injuring, injurious
  • "arms control" will only retrieve resources that use the phrase "arms control" with the words next to each other, instead of retrieving items which talk about both arms and control but possibly in different sentences, different paragraphs and even in a different context.
  • Football NOT Soccer will retrieve resources about Football but not Soccer