Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ENC 1101 (Skaryd): Databases

This guide will assist you with research in your ENC 1101 course with Professor Skaryd at the Lake Nona Campus.

Accessing Databases

To access the databases to the right, log into your Atlas account and click the "Search the Library" link in the upper right corner on the "My Atlas" tab. Once the library catalog opens, you will see the "Databases A-Z" Link in the top center of the page, above the search box. Then find the database you want in the alphabetical list, and connect. Click the icon below to access the Atlas login page.

You can also access databases by clicking the "Databases ID Required" link below, and select the "Databases A-Z" link. Log in using your VID number (Borrower ID) and your PIN (last four digits of your VID number). Make sure you also select "Valencia College" from the drop-down menu. From there, you can find the database you want, and connect. 

Databases ID Required

Clicking the database links within this guide without logging into Atlas will require you to log in using your VID.

Multi-Disciplinary Databases

Current Events Databases

Global Issues in Context offers global perspectives on issues of international importance and current world events and topics in the news related to these issues.This database ties together a variety of sources to present a rich analysis of issues – social, political, military, economic, environmental, science related, health related, cultural – and headlines in world hot spots.

 

Points of View Reference Center is a database designed to assist researchers in understanding the full scope of a wide range of controversial subjects. It features a series of full-text essays representing opposing viewpoints on a variety of important issues.

 

Opposing Viewpoints in Context is an online database for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. It features continuously updated viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to websites.

 

Image result for issues and controversies

Issues and Controversies offers a wealth of current topics research information, including pro/con discussions of hot issues, newspaper editorials, numerical snapshots of key topics, photos and graphics, and selected historical source documents.

 

NewsBank

 

 

 

NewsBank is a news collection database that features in-depth coverage of specific issues and events related to politics, economics, the environment, business, social issues, health, education, government, the arts, literature, science, culture and law. News coverage is from regional, national and international primary sources.