Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ENC 1102 (O'Brien Grogan): Databases

This guide is designed to help students with library research assignments in Professor O'Brien Grogan's Comp II classes.

Searching the Library Databases

Searching the library databases is very different than searching Google. To see an example of how to search a database, view the video below. The database highlighted in the video is called Academic Search Complete. It shows how to search using keywords as well as contains information on citing databases in MLA format.

Accessing Databases

To access the library databases listed in this guide, log into your Atlas account and click the "Search the Library" link in the upper left corner on the "My Atlas" tab.

Once the library catalog opens, you will see the "Databases A-Z" Link in the top center of the page, above the search box. Then find the database you want in the alphabetical list and connect. Click the icon below to access the Atlas login page.

 

During Atlas outages, click on the icon below to access the library catalog, then follow the instructions above.

 

Subject Specific Databases

Education Source provides scholarly research and information to meet the needs of education students, professionals, and policymakers. It covers all levels of education from early childhood to higher education and all educational specialties such as multilingual education, health education, and testing.

 

Opposing Viewpoints in Context is an online database for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. It features updated viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files, and website links.

 

APA PsycArticles is a great place to find studies conducted about various aspects of family life, personality, and mental health.

 

 

Helpful Search Tips

  • raci* will retrieve resources with any words beginning with "raci" such as racial, racism, racist, racially
  • "school violence" will only retrieve resources that use the phrase "school violence" with the words next to each other, instead of retrieving items that talk about both school and violence but possibly in different sentences, different paragraphs, and even in a different context.

General Databases

Academic Search Complete is a multi-disciplinary database with access to articles from many different disciplines such as Literature, Health, Science, Business, and more.

 

Academic OneFile contains peer-reviewed, full-text articles from leading journals and reference sources and includes coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, and, other subjects.

The Valencia College libraries do not welcome solicitation of resources to be added to our LibGuides. This includes but is not limited to vendors, search engine optimizers, placement of ads, products, or any other requests. Our LibGuides are carefully curated resources developed in partnership with faculty, staff, and students to support specific assignments, courses, events, and other related purposes at Valencia College. The Valencia libraries reserve the right to ignore LibGuide resource solicitations, and/or block persistent requests from groups or individuals to add or promote links in our LibGuides.