Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ENC 1101 (V Brown): Find Background Information

This is a guide for students in Professor Veronica Brown's Comp I class on West Campus. It contains resources and suggestions for researching a documented essay.

Start Here

The databases listed on this page require a login. For access:

  1. Go to your Atlas account and log in.
  2. Click on the Search the Library link, under the "Courses" tab.
  3. On the page that follows, search the library catalog or  click Databases A-Z or Databases by Subject.
  4. Click on the name of the database, e.g. Academic Search Complete.

Note: If you do not access this guide through Atlas, you will be prompted for a Borrower ID and PIN when you click on the links to the databases

  • Your Borrower ID is the number is your VID card, including the 'V'
  • Your PIN is the last four digits of your VID

 

Keyword Exercise

Collect background information to get a sense of the scope and main points of your topic. As you browse these resources, write down the key terms that you come across. They will help you with your research later.

Make note of the following:

Key People:

Key Events:

Key Organizations:

Searching for Background Information

You can usually find background information on your topic in reference books and in library databases. Pro/con articles are especially helpful in providing an overview of both sides of an issue. Encyclopedia articles can also provide historical background on key terms, people and events.

Use these resources to help you build a list of key words about your topic. Refer to the key word exercise in the box to the right.

Recommended Databases for Background Information

These databases also allow you to browse potential topics.

West Campus Librarians