Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

OAER at Valencia College

This guide provides information on resources that can be used as supplementary course materials.

Links

You can use this link to search across repositories.

The links on this guide may change, if you discover a dead link, please let me know: dramsingh1@valenciacollege.edu 

Open Collections

Below is a list of links to to open collections, some of the links will have the same titles.

  • BC Campus OpenEd Open textbooks for the 40 highest enrolled first- and second-year subject areas in the British Columbia's public, post-secondary system.
  • Canadiana - Canadiana.org is a coalition of members dedicated to providing broad access to Canada's documentary heritage. Through our membership alliance, Canadian libraries share tools and capacity, partner on open-source projects, and spearhead digital preservation in Canada.
  • Europeana This site contains artworks, cultural items, archival collections from participating institutions all around Europe.  
  • HathiTrust  HathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world. 
  • Internet Archive This library contains downloadable free courses, video lectures, and supplemental materials from universities across the globe.
  • Lumen Learning Supports faculty in identifying and selecting high quality OER, aligning these to learning outcomes, and assembling them to create OER-based courses.
    • Note: Some of Lumen's resources are available at no cost, but other resources like their Waymaker courseware can require a fee. Please contact a Librarian if you need more support using Lumen Learning. 
  • MERLOT Opened in 1997 is a free and open peer reviewed collection of online teaching and learning materials and faculty-developed services contributed and used by an international education community.

  • Milne Open Textbooks Milne Open Textbooks is an open textbook publishing initiative established by State University of New York libraries and supported by SUNY Innovative Instruction Technology Grants and SUNY Geneseo.

  • MIT OpenCourseWare A web-based publication of materials from thousands of MIT courses. OCW is open and available to the world and is a permanent MIT activity.

  • OASIS Openly Available Sources Integrated Search (OASIS) is a search tool that aims to make the discovery of open content easier. OASIS currently searches open content from 71 different sources and contains 165,051 records. OASIS is being developed at SUNY Geneseo's Milne Library in consultation with Alexis Clifton, SUNY OER Services Executive Director.

  • OER Commons Curating best in class learning materials from around the world since 2007.  The OER Commons is a single search source that pulls from multiple OER collections, including MERLOT and OpenStax (formerly Connexions).  It is a great first step in an OER search, but often more results can be found by searching the specific collection. 

  • Open Access Publishing in European Networks The OAPEN Library contains freely accessible academic books, mainly in the area of Humanities and Social Sciences. 
  • Open Courseware Consortium Free and open collection of high-quality learning materials presented in the form of courses.
  • Open Course Library Collection of shareable course materials, including syllabi, course activities, readings, and assessments.
  • Open Michigan A hub that helps people find, use, and create openly licensed content and provides a space to share their educational content through partnerships with community of schools & colleges, campuses, faculty, students and alumni.

  • OpenStax (formerly Connexions) Initiated by Rice University, their free textbooks are developed and peer-reviewed to ensure they meet the scope and sequence requirements of college courses, includes lectures, assignments, and written educational materials.
  • Open Textbook Library Created by the University of Minnesota to support the development of high-quality open textbooks in various subjects.
  • OpenTextbookStore A free collection of mathematics-related open textbooks. Includes supplements and a link to order print copies of the book.
  • OpenWashington is a site designed to help you understand the OER movement and find OER.  They have links for finding textbooks, content, images and video, as well as stories from faculty who have adopted OER in their classrooms.   

  • Pressbook Directory This directory provides an index of 2341 books published across 95 Pressbooks networks. Learn more about how the directory works by reading our guide or taking the self-guided tour below.

  • Project Gutenberg A volunteer effort to digitize and archive cultural works. Most items in this collection are digitized works from the public domain, making it a rich source for those in the Humanities
  • Saylor.org is a non-profit organization providing access to a collection of freely available open textbooks for download, online reading, and sharing for students who just want to learn, and are working on some methods for offering credentials. 
  • Textbook Equity Creator, publisher, distributor, and seller of open textbooks and ancillary materials to college-level students.
  • The Directory of OpenAccess Books This site is a clearinghouse of links to books hosted in various locations, and includes a large selection of international textbooks.
  • The National Academies Press Unlike some of the open textbook initiatives these books are publicly available but not openly licensed.  You can link to the content, and even link directly to specific pages. 
  • University of Central Florida Pressbooks UCF offers the Pressbooks publishing software so that anyone with an active @ucf.edu email address can create, publish, and host an open textbook or other online works.

Elementary Education

Open Textbooks

The Community College Consortium for Open Educational Resources

 

Secondary Education

Open Textbooks

The Community College Consortium for Open Educational Resources

Open Courseware

OpenLearn 

OpenLearn is a source of over 600 free online courses from The Open University.

 

The Learning Classroom: Theory into Practice

UC Irvine Open Courses

Library Resources

Child and Adolescent Education

Open Journals

Child Development Journal 

 

Child Development Research

 

Early Childhood Research & Practice (ECRP) Journal

 

CALiO E-Publications

 

PBS Media Learning

K-12 Resources

CK-12 - Lots of resources for teachers including e-text books (flex-books), multimedia resources, and assessment materials.  Students have access to lessons with videos, texts, study aids, and exercises.

Curriki - Resources can be brosed by subject and by grade level.  Includes ratings by staff and members.  Amount of content for each lesson varies.

Gateway to 21st Century Skills - Educational resources for teachers.  Items are tagged so the user knows whether they are free, available as a pdf, interactive, and so on.  Clicking on a tag allows users to browse by that tag (such as free).

Gooru - Resources for Middle and High School, multimedia lessons browseable by subject.  Some lessons include quizzes.

HippoCampus - A collection of resources for high school.

OER Commons - Allows sharing, registered users can save favorite resources.  Status indicators show whether a resource has been evaluated, rated, and sharing rules.

National Repository of Online Courses - Repository with several high school and college courses.

Power My Learning - Interactive learning games, instructional videos, suggestions for teachers to incorporate activities into lesson plans, and more.  Content can be added to playlists and filters can be used to locate stuff by sugect or grade level.

PBS Learning Media - Searchable digital resources including videos, games, audio clips, photos, and lesson plans.  PBS LearningMedia is free for educators and registered users can save and share content.  Teachers can sign their classes up, controlling things such as naming conventions.

Websites

The Community College Consortium for Open Educational Resources - CCCOER is a joint effort by the OER Center for California, Foothill-De Anza Community College District, the League for Innovation in the Community College and many other community colleges and university partners to develop and use open educational resources (OER) and especially open textbooks in community college courses. 

OpenStax is a non-profit digital ecosystem serving millions of users per month in the delivery of free educational content to improve learning outcomes.

Free Online Course Materials is a California State University MERLOT collection of over 35,000 open course materials.

MIT OpenCourseWare (OCW) is a web-based publication of virtually all MIT course content. OCW is open and available to the world and is a permanent MIT activity.

The Open Course Library from Washington State University, is a collection of expertly developed educational materials – including textbooks, syllabi, course activities, readings, and assessments – for 81 high-enrollment college courses. 42 courses have been completed so far, providing faculty with a high-quality, affordable option that will cost students no more than $30 for textbooks.

OER Commons was created as a network for teaching and learning materials, the web site offers engagement with resources in the form of social bookmarking, tagging, rating, and reviewing.

The Open Education Resource (OER) Foundation is an independent, not-for-profit organization that provides leadership, networking and support for educators and educational institutions to achieve their objectives through Open Education.

WikiEducator is a community project working collaboratively with the Free Culture Movement towards a free version of the education curriculum by 2015. Driven by the learning for development agenda WikiEducator is developing free content for use in schools, polytechnics, universities, vocational education institutions and informal education settings.

The World Digital Library (WDL) makes available on the Internet, free of charge and in multilingual format, significant primary materials from countries and cultures around the world.

Special Education

Open Textbooks

The Community College Consortium for Open Educational Resources

Signing Savvy

The Valencia College libraries do not welcome solicitation of resources to be added to our LibGuides. This includes but is not limited to vendors, search engine optimizers, placement of ads, products, or any other requests. Our LibGuides are carefully curated resources developed in partnership with faculty, staff, and students to support specific assignments, courses, events, and other related purposes at Valencia College. The Valencia libraries reserve the right to ignore LibGuide resource solicitations, and/or block persistent requests from groups or individuals to add or promote links in our LibGuides.