The Library provides access to databases that contain e-books, e-journals, images, videos, etc. that can be used to supplement textbooks and other course materials. Please let your liaison librarian know if you will be using OER's in your classes.

You can use this link to search across repositories.

The links on this guide may change, if you discover a dead link, please let me know: dramsingh1@valenciacollege.edu 

American Government and Politics (Part I)

Description

Overview:

Part I in a 2 part series on U.S. Government and Politics. The following topics are covered: The media; the contributions of the Enlightenment philosophers; the Constitution; Federalism; Civil Liberties; Civil Rights; Political Socialization and Participation; Public Opinion; Political Parties; Campaigns and Elections; Interest Groups. Ancillary materials are available to faculty by contacting tuitej@centralvirginia.edu.

 

 

American Government and Politics (Part II)

Description

Overview:

The second part in a two part series on American Government and Politics. The following topics are covered: Congress; the Presidency, the Bureaucracy; the Courts; Domestic Policy Making; and, Foreign Policy Making. Ancillary materials available to faculty members upon request (Tuitej@centralvirginia.edu)

 

 

Nationalism, Self-determination and Secession by Geoff Andrews & Michael Saward

An open text that investigates the concept of a 'nation' and what makes people strive to attain nationhood; as well as how nations, nationalism, and self-determination play a role in current political disputes. The text is licensed under a Creative Commons CC-BY-NC-SA 4.0 International license.

 

On Civic Republicanism: Ancient Lessons for Global Politics by Geoffrey Kellow and Neven Leddy, eds.

This open, edited volume seeks to provide an analysis of contemporary political issues through the lens of ancient theories - including those of Plato and Aristotle, Machiavelli, Montesquieu, and Wollstonecraft. The text is licensed under a Creative Commons CC-BY-NC-ND license.

 

 

On Global Citizenship by James Tully, ed.

An open, edited volume that is part of the Critical Power Series from Bloomsbury Academic Publishing, dedicated to constructing dialogues around innovative work in social and political theory. This volume begins with Tully's commentary on the global field of citizenship, followed by responses and criticism from other influential authors. It is licensed under a Creative Commons CC-BY-NC-ND license.

• American Government (OpenStax)

  American Government is designed to meet the scope and sequence requirements of the single-semester American government course. The book provides an important opportunity for students to learn the core concepts of American government and understand how those concepts apply to their lives and the world around them.
• American Government (UShistory.org)
• Basic Political Concepts (OrangeGrove)

  This short text introduces the basic ideas of political science.
• American Government (OrangeGrove)

  An exciting new book that explores the role of government, politics, and policy ion American lives.
• USA Elections in Brief (OrangeGrove)

  This book discusses the nature of the modern American electoral process and how it works at the federal, state, and local levels. The process, complicated and sometimes confusing, has evolved to ensure universal suffrage to all men and women who are U.S. citizens 18 years of age or older.

• Open Yale - Political Science Courses

  Yale has been home to some of the world’s foremost political scientists and the current faculty includes diverse practitioners of all the major methodologies of political science.
• MIT Open CourseWare - Political Science

  The Political Science Department today provides high-quality graduate training emphasizing research and apprenticeship relations with faculty members; excellent in international relations and comparative politics; an orientation toward issues of public policy both domestic and international; and a chance to interact with scientists, engineers and other social scientists at MIT.
• Open Culture - Political Science Courses

  Get 1,300 free online courses from the world's leading universities -- Stanford, Yale, MIT, Harvard, Berkeley, Oxford and more. You can download these audio & video courses (often from iTunes, YouTube, or university web sites) straight to your computer or mp3 player.
• OpenLearn - Society, Politics & Law

  Produced by The Open University, a world leader in open and distance learning, all OpenLearn courses are free to study.
• Saylor Academy - Political Science Courses

  Saylor Academy is a non-profit organization sponsored by the Saylor Foundation focused on bringing "freely available education to all." Founded in 1999 by Michael Saylor, they have created online courses curated from open content found on the Web. The courses are marketed toward students who just want to learn, and are working on some methods for offering credentials.
• American Government (Lumen Learning)

  This course teaches the origins and key functions of the American government. Topics include the Constitution; American federalism; civil liberties; civil rights; public opinion and its role in American democracy; voting and elections; the roles of the media, political parties, interest groups, and lobbying; the three branches of government; state and local government; bureaucracy; and the arenas of domestic and foreign policy.
• Boundless Political Science (Lumen Learning)

Digital Commons Network - Political Science Commons

The Digital Commons Network brings together free, full-text scholarly articles from hundreds of universities and colleges worldwide. Curated by university librarians and their supporting institutions, the Network includes a growing collection of peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work.

OER Commons - Political Science

The OER Commons is a single search source that pulls from multiple OER collections, including MERLOT and Connexions. It is a great first step in an OER search, but often more results can be found by searching the specific collection.

Data.gov

The home of the U.S. Government’s open data.

Civil Rights History Project

The activists interviewed for this project belong to a wide range of occupations, including lawyers, judges, doctors, farmers, journalists, professors, and musicians, among others. The video recordings of their recollections cover a wide variety of topics within the civil rights movement, such as the influence of the labor movement, nonviolence and self-defense, religious faith, music, and the experiences of young activists.

DPLA - Battle on the Ballot: Political Outsiders in US Presidential Elections

This exhibition explores the rich history of select individuals, parties, events, and movements that have influenced US presidential elections from the outside—outside Washington politics, outside the two-party system, and outside the traditional conception of who can be an American president.

Southern Poverty Law Center

This web site includes comprehensive documents on hate crimes across the USA. The Southern Poverty Law Center reports hundreds of active hate groups in the United States. This is something everyone needs to be aware of. Do you know what is in your backyard? Check it out. This is an excellent site for course assignments and or discussion in all fields of study.

HathiTrust

A partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.

Internet Archive: Digital Library

Internet Archive is a non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more

Memrise - Politics

Uses images and audio to help memorize vocabulary. Interactive site that saves individual progress.

Political Database of the Americas

The mission of the Political Database of the Americas is to contribute to the study, promotion and strengthening of democracy in the hemisphere, through the collection, systematization, dissemination, and exchange of information, data, statistics, and institutions from a political perspective, comparative studies; and other resources relevant to the 35 countries of the region.

Statistics - Open Intro

A college-level textbook covering data basics, probability (optional), distributions, inference for means and proportions, and regression, including multiple and the basics of logistic regression.

Snag Films

Snag Films has over 2,000 movies, TV show episodes, eye-opening documentaries. Search keywords to find related political films and documentaries.