Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

OAER at Valencia College

This guide provides information on resources that can be used as supplementary course materials.

Library Resources

The Library provides access to databases that contain e-books, e-journals, images, videos, etc. that can be used to supplement textbooks and other course materials. Please let your liaison librarian know if you will be using OER's in your classes.

 

The links on this guide may change, if you discover a dead link, please let me know: dramsingh1@valenciacollege.edu 

Books

ESL Literacy Readers from Bow Valley College - Audio and text books

Multimedia Educational Resource for Learning and Online Teaching (MERLOT) - A collection of textbooks for ELL teachers

Communication Beginnings: An Introductory Listening and Speaking Text for English Language Learners - This textbook is designed for beginning-intermediate English language learners. It is composed of 7 chapters, each of which covers specific speaking and listening learning objectives and includes dialogues, interviews, discussions and conversation activities. Each chapter includes listening and speaking components such as dialogues, interviews, discussions and conversation activities. Each chapter also focuses on 10 target words from the New General Service List of English vocabulary. The textbook includes an audio component that consists of recorded conversations of native and non-native English speakers, as well as links to additional listening resources on the web.

Adult Literacy Fundamental English – Course Pack 5 - This course pack is designed to meet the learning outcomes for Adult Literacy Fundamental English Level 5 (roughly equivalent to grades 6 to 7.5 in the K-12 system). Every chapter includes a level-appropriate, high-interest reading of between 500 and 800 words. The readings are freely available in a separate reader with convenient links to the readings in each chapter of this course pack. Font size and line spacing can be adjusted in the online view, and have been enhanced for the print and PDF versions for easier reading. This course pack has been reviewed by subject experts from colleges and universities.

Adult Literacy Fundamental English – Course Pack 6 - This course pack is designed to meet the learning outcomes for Adult Literacy Fundamental English Level 6 (roughly equivalent to grades 7.5 to 9 in the K-12 system). Every chapter includes a level-appropriate, high-interest reading of between 500 and 1,000 words. The readings are freely available in a separate reader with convenient links to the readings in each chapter of this course pack. Font size and line spacing can be adjusted in the online view, and have been enhanced for the print and PDF versions for easier reading. This course pack has been reviewed by subject experts from colleges and universities.

College ESL Writers: Applied Grammar and Composing Strategies for Success College ESL Writers: Applied Grammar and Composing Strategies for Success is designed as a comprehensive grammar and writing etext for high intermediate and advanced level non-native speakers of English. We open the text with a discussion on the sentence and then break it down into its elemental components, before reconstructing them into effective sentences with paragraphs and larger academic assignments. Following that, we provide instruction in paragraph and essay writing with several opportunities to both review the fundamentals as well as to demonstrate mastery and move on to more challenging assignments.

We have structured the etext into three basic parts. Part I, Composing Strategies and Techniques, includes a sequenced discussion from composing effective sentences through paragraph and essay writing. This includes the prewriting and planning stages of writing as well as the revising and editing stage in the first five chapters. Part II, Language Use, Grammar, and Mechanics, is meant to be used as a grammar and mechanics handbook as well as the practice and review of idiomatic wording. Part III, All About Writing: Samples, Topics, and Rubrics, has chapters with additional writing topics for practice, sample student papers, and rubrics for evaluating writing.

Advanced Community College ESL Composition: An Integrated Skills ApproachThis book has been created to provide a framework for building your skills in writing and critical thinking. It provides access to published samples from professional authors along with essay drafts from ESL students who have polished their skills in their respective writing courses.

The themes in the readings will give you a variety of topics to discuss with your classmates, which may inspire your own deeper thinking and writing. Overall, we hope that as you proceed through these chapters, you will build confidence and develop your voice in the classroom and beyond.

About Writing: A Guide - Open Oregon Educational Resources -This writer’s reference condenses and covers everything a beginning writing student should need to successfully compose college-level work. Includes a section for ESL students on challenges in grammar and writing.

College ESL Writers: Applied Grammar and Composing Strategies for Success -A comprehensive grammar and writing etext for high intermediate and advanced level non-native speakers of English.

Communication Beginnings: An Introductory Listening and Speaking Text for English Language Learners -Includes textbook and audio. Covers specific speaking and listening learning objectives and includes dialogues, interviews, discussions and conversation activities.

Conventions 101: A Functional Approach to Teaching (And Assessing!) Grammar and Punctuation -This is a collection of cumulative units of study for conventional errors common in student writing. It's flexible, functional, and zeroes in problems typically seen in writing of all types, from the eternal “there/they're/their” struggle to correct colon use.

ESL for Beginning Students: The Way You Like It: Basic Beginning Grammar/Writing: (Part One of Two) -Includes vocabulary lists, textbook chapter, and quizzes.

ESL for High Beginning Students: The Way You Like It: Basic High-Beginning Grammar/Writing: Part Two (of Two) -Textbook chapter, pronunciation, vocabulary, and more.

ESL for High Intermediate Students: The Way You Like It: High Intermediate Grammar/Writing -Textbook chapter plus vocabulary (Passive Adjective Expressions), and pronunciation practice.

Introduction to Academic Writing for ESOL -Includes syllabus, textbook, slideshows, creative writing journal, and homework

OER Short Stories for ESOL -Printable workbook covering short stories and folklore by Alison Bechdel, Bradbury, Murakami, de Maupassant, Thurber and Shirley Jackson. Topics include cultural context, vocabulary, inference, characterization, plot development and literature circles. Website includes links to videos and slideshows.

PDX Journeys: Studying and Living in the US, Low-Intermediate Novel and Textbook for University ESL Students -Each unit begins with a chapter of fiction about a teacher and students in one ESL class. Reading comprehension and reading skills exercises follow.

Course Materials

Adult Education Open Community of Resources - ESL Lesson plans, activities, and additional supplemental material organized by beginner, intermediate, and advanced ESL.

Adult ELL Phonics This phonics program was developed to serve students with diverse educational backgrounds, with a specific focus on refugees. Includes slides, audio, and worksheets.

Storybooks ESL - Storybooks ESL is a free open educational resource that promotes literacy and language learning in homes, schools, and communities. Includes 40 free online stories.

Public Domain

AE: American English - A U.S. State Department website for educators who teach American English language and culture.

VOA: Voice of America News, cultural information, and multimedia resources for English language learners. All content created by VOA is in the Public Domain.

Websites and Other Resources

Grammar Bytes 

Randall's ESL Cyber Listening Lab

Read Theory

English Express

Grammar Essentials

Understanding and Using Grammar

Grammar Briefs

OER Commons

Adult Education Open Community of Resources - This group provides an opportunity for adult educators and learners to organize materials dedicated to supporting Adult Basic Education (ABE) and Adult English as a Second Language (Adult ESL) teaching and learning. Adult educators and learners are encouraged to join this open community to share high-quality, high-interest materials for adult learners with low literacy levels preparing for the GED, new career opportunities, increased participation in their children’s education, English language learning, and other important skills. We strongly encourage you to tag each resource you use and evaluate as “Adult Basic Education” or “Adult ESL” so others will also be able to find these adult learner-appropriate material.

Let's Read It Again: Comprehension Strategies for English-Language Learners - Overview: Help Spanish-speaking English-language learners unlock the mysteries of their new language by using a bilingual book to recognize unfamiliar words and construct meaning from the text.

Nature Reflections: Interactive Language Practice for English-Language Learners - Students whose first language is not English reflect on nature through readings, a visit to a green area, and bookmaking using the writing process and peer feedback.

The Valencia College libraries do not welcome solicitation of resources to be added to our LibGuides. This includes but is not limited to vendors, search engine optimizers, placement of ads, products, or any other requests. Our LibGuides are carefully curated resources developed in partnership with faculty, staff, and students to support specific assignments, courses, events, and other related purposes at Valencia College. The Valencia libraries reserve the right to ignore LibGuide resource solicitations, and/or block persistent requests from groups or individuals to add or promote links in our LibGuides.