BC Open Textbooks: Education - Provides the textbook, "Complexities, Capacities, Communities: Changing Development Narratives in Early Childhood Education, Care and Development."
College Open Textbooks: Education - A collection of open textbooks related to the subject of Education including, "Classroom Management and Supervision," "Curriculum Studies," and "Teaching Methodology."
MERLOT - A curated collection of free and open online teaching, learning, and faculty development services contributed and used by an international education community.
The National Academies Press (NAP) - Provides textbooks on various education studies topics.
OER Commons - Provides a curated collection of textbooks and resources for studies in Education.
Open Textbook Library - A wide selection of textbooks on educational studies.
The purpose of this textbook is to provide instruction in FA skills for pre-professionals in the fields of education and psychology. This supplemental resource provides the context, background, and knowledge to facilitate students’ acquisition of the methods, decision-making, and skills involved in conducting FA. Each chapter begins with focus questions designed to promote reflective thinking and ends with discussion questions. To promote the application of FA in diverse situations and teach important lessons, case studies of individuals with challenging behaviors, interactive activities, and opportunities for practice are embedded in the chapters. Moreover, the text includes the ingredients to facilitate students’ role play and rehearsal of appropriate FA skills while working in cooperative groups and using performance-based training.
Observation and Assessment by Gina Peterson and Emily Elam (2020): College of the Canyons.
This open textbook addresses the population of individuals with disabilities that experience complex lifelong needs across multiple areas in their lives. Drs. Sennott and Loman drafted this book (along with the help from some friends) with the hope of providing pertinent, practical, and current resources to future special educators who plan to serve individuals with complex disabilities.
Child Growth and Development by Jennifer Paris, Antoinette Ricardo, & Dawn Rymond (2019): College of the Canyons.
Early Education and Care: Core Competencies - From the University of Massachusetts, this course is designed to provide early childhood education professionals with the knowledge and skills to assess their own level in terms of the eight core competencies, across the infant-toddler, preschool and out-of-school age range.
Education & Teacher Training Courses - edX - Offers online education courses covering a broad range of topics from educational policy and history to curriculum design and teaching techniques. Explore case studies in teaching and learn about how technology is increasing access to quality education on an unprecedented scale.
Edutopia: Education Video Library - Videos about K-12 teaching methods and strategies from the George Lucas Educational Foundation.
First Year Teacher Program - The 10 modules include video segments featuring teachers using effective strategies and techniques in the classroom on subjects such as phonemic awareness, phonics, speech sounds, and text comprehension.
Future Learn - Child Development Take a course and learn how you can manage challenging behavior in young people or take a course and learn life-saving skills to treat choking, burns, wounds or cardiac arrest in children through this free online first aid course.
Future Learn: Education - A course to learn how teachers can help close the gender gap and get guidance on helping girls achieve their potential with this free online course or take a course and learn how to be professionally involved in teaching, support and governing of higher education institutions.
Future Learn: Teaching Courses - Online teaching courses to support teachers' professional learning and development. Enhance how you teach subjects such as English as a foreign language or STEM, or try new approaches to assessment, behavior management or special needs provision.
Khan Academy - Hundreds of short educational videos covering many subjects.
The Learning Classroom: Theory into Practice - An online college course developed for students preparing to be teachers, as well as in-service K-12 classroom teachers and other educators.
OpenLearn - Provides courses on education and development such as "Looking globally: the future of education", "Facilitating group discussions", "Play, learning and the brain", "Enhancing pupil learning on museum visits", and "Using visualization in maths teaching."
Signing Savvy - A sign language dictionary containing several thousand high resolution videos of American Sign Language (ASL) signs, fingerspelled words, and other common signs.
TED ED YouTube Channel - Child Development: Watch inspirational and educational TED ED Lessons worth sharing such as "How childhood trauma affects health across a lifetime", "The surprisingly logical minds of babies", "Lessons from the longest study on human development."
TED ED: Lessons Worth Sharing - Education - Create and share lessons around any TED-Ed original, TED Talk or YouTube Video
UC Irvine Open Courses - Help in preparing for the CSET subject tests. Also offered is a ”four-part webinar series specifically designed to help participants better understand and more effectively support gifted students both at home and in the
A Child Becomes A Reader (National Institute for Literacy)
Cognitive Development in Childhood by Robert Siegler, Carnegie Mellon University (Noba Project)
Early Childhood Development Bookshelf (LibreTexts)
The Early Years: Child Development and Public Policy by Samuel Berlinski, Norbert Schady (SpringerLink)
ELMS: Early Learning in Math and Science (The Lawrence Hall of Science)
K-5 Math and Technology Resources (Valdosta State University/Galileo OER)
The Role of Play in Children's Health and Development by Ute Navidi (MDPI Books)
Social and Personality Development in Childhood by Ross Thompson, UC Davis (Noba Project)
EDUCAUSE EDUCAUSE® is a higher education technology association and the largest community of IT leaders and professionals committed to advancing higher education.
ERIC ERIC (Education Resource Information Center) is the primary database for education literature. It includes both journal articles (EJ numbers) and other reports(ED numbers) from 1966 to the present. Early ED numbers may be available on microfiche, more recent ED numbers are primarily online. The database is available from different vendors with article linking as well as from the freely available website.
PBS Learning Media The PBS Digital Learning Library is a public media system-wide repository of digital media learning objects, including videos, images, podcasts and documents.
Ubiquity Press Open access publisher of peer-reviewed academic journals, books and data. Ubiquity's publications include titles in disciplines less well represented in open access publishing, such as archeology and anthropology.
Wikibooks Hosted by the Wikimedia foundation, Wikibooks is an open content textbook collection spanning a variety of reading levels and disciplines.
American Academy of Child & Adolescent Psychiatry This is a site dedicated to "Assisting parents and families in understanding developmental, behaviorial, emotional and mental disorders affecting children and adolescents."
CALiO E-Publications From The Child Abuse Library Online (CALiO) of the National Children's Advocacy Center (NCAC), “full-text of publications that do not require fee or password. Many of the publications included in this collection were published by state and federal government agencies, and are in the public domain. Others were funded by foundations or other organizations for open access.”
Child Development Institute A site "designed to provide the information and tools parents need to understand their unique child/children and to enable them to help each child develop into the successful human being they were meant to be." Has useful sections about Ages/Stages, Development, Health/Safety, Psychology, and more.
Child Development Journal A multidisciplinary, not-for-profit, professional association with an international membership of approximately 5,500 researchers, practitioners, and human development professionals. This site provides free access to some of the articles published in this journal.
Child Development Research Child Development Research is a peer-reviewed open-access journal that publishes original research articles as well as review articles in all areas of child development research.
Child Welfare Information Gateway nformation about child welfare, child abuse and neglect, adoption, search and reunion from the Children's Bureau, Administration for Children & Families, U.S. Department of Health & Human Services.
Developmental Psychology Links by Subtopic From the Social Psychology Network, links related to infancy, adoption, childhood development, child protection, parenting, adolescence, and more. Organized by topic.
Early Childhood Research & Practice (ECRP) Journal Open-access, peer-reviewed, bilingual Internet journal in early care and education.
Internet Archive: Digital Library Internet Archive is a non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more.
PBS Media Learning The PBS Digital Learning Library is a public media system-wide repository of digital media learning objects, including videos, images, interactives, audios and documents
Project Gutenberg - Children's Book Series Project Gutenberg's Children's Book Series. See also, Children's Fiction (Bookshelf), Children's Literature (Bookshelf), Children's Picture Books (Bookshelf), and Children's Instructional Books (Bookshelf).