Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ENC 1102 (Doggette) - Research-Based Profile of an Organization: Finding Articles

his guide is designed to help students with library research as they complete assignments in ENC 1102 with Professor Doggette.

Accessing Databases

Your Valencia ID Card also serves as your Library Card.
Students, Faculty & Staff:
Log in to Atlas to search the library by going to the Courses tab.  On the far right under Register For Classes is a link for Search The Library.

Visitors:
Search the Library without logging in. ***Important*** Use this link during Atlas outages (Read below).

During Atlas outages, FOLLOW THESE INSTRUCTIONS to log in to the Library:

 

  1. Click the "Search the Library" link above.
  2. On the page that follows, click Log In in the upper right corner of the screen.
  3. When prompted, enter your Borrower ID and PIN.

    Use your VID number as your Borrower ID (include the V). (If you have a pre-2008 ID, use the 14 digit number on the back of your Valencia ID instead.)

    Use the last 4 digits of your VID number as the PIN.

 

Multidisciplinary Databases

Academic Search Complete is a multi-disciplinary database with access to articles from many different disciplines such as Literature, Health, Science, Business, and more.

 

Image result for academic one file

Academic OneFile (Gale) provides peer-reviewed, full-text articles from leading journals and reference sources. Includes coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and, other subjects.

 

America's News provides free access to US newspapers, including the Orlando Sentinel for local information.

 

Popular Magazines contains full-text articles from 1,000 of the most searched magazines including Time, National Geographic, The New Yorker, Newsweek, Vanity Fair, US News and World Report, Vogue, Fortune, Cosmopolitan, NPR, Oprah, and many more. 

Controversial Topic Databases

Image result for opposing viewpoints in context

Opposing Viewpoints in Context is an online database for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. It features continuously updated viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to web sites.

 

Global Issues in Context offers global perspectives on issues of international importance and current world events and topics in the news related to these issues. Not a pro and con database, Global Issues in Context ties together a variety of sources to present a rich analysis of issues – social, political, military, economic, environmental, science related, health related, cultural – and headlines in world hot spots.

 

Issues: Understanding Controversy and Society offers articles on a number of controversial issues, including topics such as adoption, dieting, family issues, euthanasia, free speech and censorship, and many more.

 

Issues & Controversies Offers a wealth of current topics research information, including pro/con discussions of hot issues, newspaper editorials, numerical snapshots of key topics, photos and graphics, and selected historical source documents.

The Valencia College libraries do not welcome solicitation of resources to be added to our LibGuides. This includes but is not limited to vendors, search engine optimizers, placement of ads, products, or any other requests. Our LibGuides are carefully curated resources developed in partnership with faculty, staff, and students to support specific assignments, courses, events, and other related purposes at Valencia College. The Valencia libraries reserve the right to ignore LibGuide resource solicitations, and/or block persistent requests from groups or individuals to add or promote links in our LibGuides.