Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HUM 2220 (Handyside): In Depth Research

In-Depth Research

For more in-depth research, use books and ebooks OR scholarly articles from the databases listed below.

Databases

JSTOR

JSTOR is an interdisciplinary (covers many subjects) database in which all the articles are from scholarly journals. Scholarly journals, also called academic journals, refereed journals, or peer-reviewed journals are the publications scholars use to publish their original research.

It can be searched directly through the database link or through Google Scholar.

Searching JSTOR in Google Scholar

Click the icon of the three straight lines in the upper left hand corner and select settings from the menu that pops up.

Select Library Links from the menu.

  • Search on Valencia College
  • Check off box labelled Valencia College Find Text via LINCCWeb
  • Save

Now do a search and use JSTOR as one of your search terms.

In the results lists any result that says "Find Text via LINCCWeb" on the right is accessing the Valencia databases.

Books and eBooks

Search the library catalog for print books and electronic books on your topic.

When searching the catalog, be sure to limit to West Campus and books or eBooks before you search.

Citation Guides online

Remember that although many of the library databases provide citations for electronic sources, it is your responsibility as a student to ensure that all of your citations are correct. 

Be sure to compare any database generated citations to the library's citation guides online (link below), the official MLA Handbook  or APA Publication Manual (located at the second floor Reference Desk), or your Little Seagull Handbook.

West Campus Librarian

Beth King's picture
Beth King
Contact:
West Campus 6-326J
407-582-1854