Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ENC 1101 (Robbins): Databases

This guide can be used by students in ENC1101 with Professor Robbins.

Accessing Databases

To access the databases to the right, log into your Atlas account and click the "Search the Library" link in the upper left corner on the "My Atlas" tab. Once the library catalog opens, you will see the "Databases A-Z" Link in the top center of the page, above the search box. Then find the database you want in the alphabetical list, and connect. Click the icon below to access the Atlas login page.

You can also access databases by clicking "Online Databases" below, and logging in using your VID number (Borrower ID). Your PIN is the last four digits of your VID number. From there, you can select the "Databases A-Z" option, find the database you want, and connect. Make sure you also select "Valencia College" from the drop-down menu.

Clicking the database links within this guide without logging into Atlas will require you to log in using your VID.

General Databases

Academic Search Complete is a multi-disciplinary database with access to articles from many different disciplines such as Literature, Health, Science, Business, and more.

 

Image result for academic one file

 

Academic OneFile (Gale) provides peer-reviewed, full-text articles from leading journals and reference sources. Includes coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and, other subjects.

JSTOR contains scholarly full-text articles in the subject areas of the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.

 

Subject Specific Databases

Applied Science and Technology covers disciplines in the applied science field, such as engineering, technology, and computer science.

Image result for business source complete

Business Source Complete covers all disciplines of business including advertising, marketing, management, and economics.

 

CINAHL Complete is the definitive research tool for nursing and allied health professionals. It contains more than 1,300 full-text nursing & allied health journals.

 

 

 

Computer Database (Gale) offers access to today's most well-read and influential periodicals on the computer, telecommunications and electronics industries.

 

Image result for InfoTrac Communication & Mass Media Complete eCollection (Gale

Communication & Mass Media Complete provides access to academic journals and magazines focusing on all aspects of the communications field. Key subjects covered in the database include advertising and public relations, literature and writing, linguistics, and more.

Criminal Justice (ProQuest) is a comprehensive database supporting research on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as litigation and crime trends.

 

Image result for info Trac criminal justice

Criminal Justice Collection (Gale) is a comprehensive periodical collection supporting criminal justice.

 

Education Source provides scholarly research and information to meet the needs of education students, professionals, and policy makers. It covers all levels of education from early childhood to higher education as well as all educational specialties such as multilingual education, health education, and testing.

 

 

Health Reference Center Academic provides access to full-text nursing and allied health journals found in the Health & Wellness Resource Center. It is the perfect resource for up-to-date information on the complete range of health care topics.

 

PsycArticles provides full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. It contains more than 100,000 articles from 59 journals ranging in date from 1894 to the present.