Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ENC 1102 (Kirk): Databases

This guide can be used by students completing research assignments in ENC1102 with Professor Kirk at the Poinciana Campus.

Accessing Databases

To access the databases to the right, log into your Atlas account and click the "Search the Library" link in the upper left corner on the "My Atlas" tab. Once the library catalog opens, you will see the "Databases A-Z" Link in the top center of the page, above the search box. Then find the database you want in the alphabetical list, and connect. Click the icon below to access the Atlas login page.

You can also access databases by clicking "Online Databases" below, and logging in using your VID number (Borrower ID). Your PIN is the last four digits of your VID number. From there, you can select the "Databases A-Z" option, find the database you want, and connect. Make sure you also select "Valencia College" from the drop-down menu.

Clicking the database links within this guide without logging into Atlas will require you to log in using your VID.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar Search

Multidisciplinary Databases

Academic Search Complete is a multi-disciplinary database with access to articles from many different disciplines such as Literature, Health, Science, Business, and more.

 

Project Muse is a leading provider of digital humanities and social science content for the scholarly community.

 

Image result for academic one file

Academic OneFile (Gale) provides peer-reviewed, full-text articles from leading journals and reference sources. Includes coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and, other subjects.

Image result for jstor

JSTOR has access to back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Over 700 titles available.

Social Science Databases

PsycArticles is a great place to find studies conducted on various aspects of family life, personality, and deviant behavior.

 

Psychology Collection contains over 200 full-text journals on various Psychology topics that give individuals a basic understanding of the study of the mind, emotions and how the human mind develops -- and diminishes -- over time.

 

Image result for proquest criminal justice 

 Criminal Justice (ProQuest) covers a wide variety of criminal justice topics, including corrections administration, law enforcement, social work, industrial security, drug rehabilitation, and criminal and family law. Full-text and image coverage for about 50 journals.

 

Global Issues in Context offers global perspectives on issues of international importance and current world events and topics in the news related to these issues.

 

Opposing Viewpoints in Context is an online database for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. It features continuously updated viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to websites.