Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ENC 1101 (Pridemore) - Fake News and Research: Finding Articles

This is a guide for students doing research in Professor Pridemore's Comp I class on Osceola Campus.

Accessing Databases

Your Valencia ID Card also serves as your Library Card.
Students, Faculty & Staff:
Log in to Atlas to search the library by going to the Courses tab.  On the far right under Register For Classes is a link for Search The Library.

Visitors:
Search the Library without logging in. ***Important*** Use this link during Atlas outages (Read below).

During Atlas outages, FOLLOW THESE INSTRUCTIONS to log in to the Library:

 

  1. Click the "Search the Library" link above.
  2. On the page that follows, click Log In in the upper right corner of the screen.
  3. When prompted, enter your Borrower ID and PIN.

    Use your VID number as your Borrower ID (include the V). (If you have a pre-2008 ID, use the 14 digit number on the back of your Valencia ID instead.)

    Use the last 4 digits of your VID number as the PIN.

 

Multidisciplinary Databases

Academic Search Complete is a multi-disciplinary database with access to articles from many different disciplines such as Literature, Health, Science, Business, and more.

 

Newsstand is another international newspaper database that covers major world newspapers, such as the New York Times, Los Angeles Times, The Washington Post, The Daily Mail, and The Wall Street Journal.

GreenFILE offers a unique perspective on the positive and negative ways humans affect the environment. Drawing on the connection between the environment and disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology, GreenFILE serves as an informative resource for anyone concerned about the issues facing our planet.

Controversial Topic Databases

Opposing Viewpoints in Context is an online database for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. It features continuously updated viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to web sites.

 

Points of View Reference Center is a database designed to assist researchers in understanding the full scope of a wide range of controversial subjects. It features a series of full-text essays representing opposing viewpoints on a variety of important issues.

 

Issues: Understanding Controversy and Society offers articles on a number of controversial issues, including topics such as adoption, dieting, family issues, euthanasia, free speech and censorship, and many more.