Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

SPC 1017 (Morris): Databases

This guide is designed to help students find research for speeches in Professor Morris' Interpersonal Communication course at the Osceola Campus.

Accessing Databases

To access the databases to the right, log into your Atlas account and click the "Search the Library" link in the lower right corner on the "Courses" tab. Once the library catalog opens, you will see the "Databases A-Z" Link in the top center of the page, above the search box. Then find the database you want in the alphabetical list, and connect. Click the icon below to access the Atlas login page.

At times you may be prompted to log into the library site using a borrower ID and PIN. Use your VID number (with the V) as the borrower ID. Your PIN is the last four digits of your VID number.

 

 

General Databases

Academic Search Complete is a multi-disciplinary database with access to articles from many different disciplines such as Literature, Health, Science, Business, and more.

Image result for communications and mass media collection

Communications & Mass Media Collection brings together information found in more than 400 journals. Nearly 3 million articles on all aspects of the communications field, including advertising, public relations, linguistics, and literature, meet the needs of researchers.

 

 

JSTOR is a database including articles in the Humanities, Arts, and social sciences.

Controversial Topic Databases

Opposing Viewpoints in Context is an online database for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. It features continuously updated viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to websites.

 

‚Äč

 

Issues and Controversies offers a wealth of current topics research information, including pro/con discussions of hot issues, newspaper editorials, numerical snapshots of key topics, photos and graphics, and selected historical source documents.

 

Global Issues in Context offers global perspectives on issues of international importance and current world events and topics in the news related to these issues.This database ties together a variety of sources to present a rich analysis of issues – social, political, military, economic, environmental, science related, health related, cultural – and headlines in world hot spots.

Points of View Reference Center is a database designed to assist researchers in understanding the full scope of a wide range of controversial subjects. It features a series of full-text essays representing opposing viewpoints on a variety of important issues.

Health Databases

Image result for health and wellness resource center

Health and Wellness Resource Center offers access to full-text nursing and allied health journals, internet web sites, encyclopedias and other reference sources.

 

Salem Health is a health database containing articles from the print version of Magill's Medical Guide. This will be a helpful reference for any disease or health-related research.

 

Image result for cinahl

CINAHL provides full-text access to more than 560 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health, including biomedicine, alternative medicine, consumer health, and 17 allied health disciplines.

 

Related image

PsycArticles provides full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. It contains more than 100,000 articles from 59 journals ranging in date from 1894 to the present.

Osceola Campus Librarian

Jenna Settles's picture
Jenna Settles
Contact:
Osceola Campus
407-582-4853