Skip to main content

EPI 0950 -Field Experience Professor E. Costello: Demographics

This guide is for the course EPI 0950 -Field Experience

Government Resources

The Condition of Education (NCES)

View data from several NCES sources including The Condition of Education which offers annual summaries of trends and statistics. 

The Digest of Education Statistics (NCES)

"Provide a compilation of statistical information covering the broad field of American education from prekindergarten through graduate school."

Education Publications

U.S. Department of Education publications for ordering plus links to some free options.

Educational Resources Information Center (ERIC)

ERIC is a national information system which provides access to education-related literature. It contains the largest education database in the world. This is the U.S. Department of Education's enhanced version. Includes some free documents previously available through fee-based services. ERIC is also available through a Sawyer Library database.

National Center for Education Statistics (NCES)

This is the "primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data that are related to education in the United States and other nations." Topics include public schools/districts, elementary/secondary education, post secondary education, and the Nation's Report Card.

National Library of Education (NLE)

The NLE holds over 800 education journals, the complete ERIC microfiche collection, and the complete archives of the U.S. Department of Education documents. Offers on-site services, as well as assistance through phone, fax, and the internet.

National Research and Development Centers. Publications and Reports

The National Education Research and Development Centers are funded by the U.S. Department of Education's Institute Education Sciences. "The mission of the R&D Centers is to contribute to the production and dissemination of rigorous evidence and products that provide practical solutions to important education problems in the United States." Centers offer various full-text research reports.

NCLB. U.S. Department of Education

Provides extensive information on the No Child Left Behind Act (NCLB) and it reauthorization. Includes policy documents, progress data by state, accountability plans and guidence, federal regulations, and more.

Office of Elementary and Secondary Education. U.S. Department of Education

Provides reports and publications, policy documents, assessment tools, selected full-text laws, standards, and much more.

Projections of Education Statistics (NCES)

"Provides projections for key education statistics, including enrollment, graduates, teachers, and expenditures in elementary and secondary schools. Included are national data on enrollment and graduates for the past 15 years and projections to the year 2016, as well as state-level data ..."

State Education Data Profiles (NCES)

Offers "statewide information in elementary/secondary education characteristics and finance, postsecondary education, public libraries, assessments, and selected demographics for all states."

United States Department of Education

Includes teacher resources, parent guides, student financial aid information, full-text research and reports, and much more. Covers recent legislation, regulations, and policy issues.

Statistics

American Factfinder

In American FactFinder you can obtain data in the form of maps, tables, and reports from a variety of Census Bureau sources. "Your source for population, housing, economic, and geographic data..." Build a query, create maps, view data tables - from the U.S. Census Bureau's Mapping and Cartographic Resources.

ChildStats.gov

Common Core of Data (CCD). National Center for Education Statistics

Criminal Justice Statistics: U.S. Census Bureau

Data on arrests, crimes, crime rates, victimization, etc. (Full-text).

Digest of Education Statistics

Kids Count

The primary mission of the Foundation is to foster public policies, human-service reforms, and community supports that more effectively meet the needs of today’s vulnerable children and families

National Center for Education Statistics. Condition of Education

NCES Customized Tables

Build custom tables on assessments, public schools and post-secondary education

NCES Digest of Education Statistics

Provides statistical information in the US from prekindergarten through graduate school by year

OECD. Education Online

State Master

Statistical database which allows you to research and compare different data on US states

Trends & indicators in Higher Education (New England Board of Higher Education)

UNESCO. Education