Child Abuse and Neglect Statistics (at Child Welfare Information Gateway)
This service of the Children's Bureau in the Administration for Children and Families of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services provides access to state, US, and international data and statistics on the incidence of child abuse and neglect, deaths due to child abuse and neglect, and estimated costs of child abuse and neglect.
Consult the Child Welfare Information Gateway(www.childwelfare.gov) for additional information about child abuse and neglect, including print and electronic publications, Web sites, databases, and online learning tools designed for students, child welfare practitioners, and families.
Childhelp is a leading national non-profit advocacy organization "dedicated to helping victims of child abuse and neglect" which "focuses on prevention, intervention and treatment." Founded in 1959 by Sara O'Meara and Yvonne Fedderson. The Childhelp Website provides statistics, stories contributed by those affected by child abuse, and information about Childhelp's programs and state chapters. The Childhelp National Child Abuse Hotline, 1-800-4-A-CHILD operates 24 hours a day, seven days a week.
Crimes against Children Research Center
The Crimes against Children Research Center (CCRC) provides research about the nature and impacts of crimes against children including physical and sexual abuse, rape, assault, child abduction, and homicide. The mission of the CCRC is "to combat crimes against children by providing high quality research and statistics to the public, policy makers, law enforcement personnel, and other child welfare practitioners." Consult the Topics and News sections for reports and data. Noted researchers associated with the Center include David Finkelhor (director), Kathleen A. Kendall-Tackett, and Glenda Kaufman Kantor.
A list of resources compiled and approved by the Education Cooperative Planning Team of the Child Abuse Prevention and Permanency Advisory Council.
Services and programs that can help Florida families.
National Center for Missing & Exploited Children
The mission of the National Center for Missing & Exploited Children (NCMEC) is "to serve as the nation’s resource on the issues of missing and sexually exploited children." A nonprofit organization created in 1984, the NCMEC provides information and resources to children (including child victims), parents, law enforcement personnel, and other professionals. The Web site provides photo listings of abducted/missing children and links to reporting resources such as the CyberTipLine (to report child sexual exploitation) and a toll-free number, 1-800-THE-LOST.
Prevent Child Abuse America (PCA America)
The mission of Prevent Child Abuse America (PCA America) is to "prevent the abuse and neglect of our nation's children." This advocacy organization is concerned with all forms of abuse and neglect, "whether physical, sexual, educational, or emotional." PCA America strives to provide national leadership in public policy development for children and families, to serve as a clearinghouse for effective prevention strategies, to promote the translation of research into practice, and to advise communities. The Web site provides access to research, news and publications, conference announcements, and local chapter information.
The National Child Traumatic Stress Network (NCTSN)
Established by the U.S. Congress in 2000, the National Child Traumatic Stress Network (NCTSN) brings a comprehensive focus to childhood trauma. NCTSN is a collaborative organization of frontline providers, researchers, and families who are committed to raising the standard of care related to child traumatic experiences by emphasizing evidence-based practices, while increasing access to services. The NCTSN Website provides information about child traumatic stress, effective treatments, and policy guides and briefs as well as a Measures Review Database providing information about tools that measure children's experiences of trauma.