To access the databases to the right, log into your Atlas account and click the "Search the Library" link in the upper left corner on the "My Atlas" tab. Once the library catalog opens, you will see the "Databases A-Z" Link in the top center of the page, above the search box. Then find the database you want in the alphabetical list, and connect. Click the icon below to access the Atlas login page.
You can also access databases by clicking "Online Databases" below, and logging in using your VID number (Borrower ID). Your PIN is the last four digits of your VID number. From there, you can select the "Databases A-Z" option, find the database you want, and connect. Make sure you also select "Valencia College" from the drop-down menu.
Clicking the database links within this guide without logging into Atlas will require you to log in using your VID.
Academic Search Complete is a multi-disciplinary database with access to articles from many different disciplines such as Literature, Health, Science, Business, and more.
Academic OneFile (Gale) provides peer-reviewed, full-text articles from leading journals and reference sources. Includes coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and, other subjects.
JSTOR contains scholarly full-text articles in the subject areas of the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
Films on Demand includes is a database of streaming video from large and small production companies covering a wide range of subjects including documentaries, television broadcasts, educational films, and more.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context is an online database for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. It features continuously updated viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to websites.
Issues and Controversies offers a wealth of current topics research information, including pro/con discussions of hot issues, newspaper editorials, numerical snapshots of key topics, photos and graphics, and selected historical source documents.
Global Issues in Context offers global perspectives on issues of international importance and current world events and topics in the news related to these issues.This database ties together a variety of sources to present a rich analysis of issues – social, political, military, economic, environmental, science related, health related, cultural – and headlines in world hot spots.
Points of View Reference Center is a database designed to assist researchers in understanding the full scope of a wide range of controversial subjects. It features a series of full-text essays representing opposing viewpoints on a variety of important issues.
Business Source Complete covers all disciplines of business including advertising, marketing, management, and economics.
CINAHL Complete is the definitive research tool for nursing and allied health professionals. It contains more than 1,300 full-text nursing & allied health journals.
Communication & Mass Media Complete provides access to academic journals and magazines focusing on all aspects of the communications field. Key subjects covered in the database include advertising and public relations, literature and writing, linguistics, and more.
Criminal Justice (ProQuest) is a comprehensive database supporting research on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as litigation and crime trends.
Criminal Justice Collection (Gale) is a comprehensive periodical collection supporting criminal justice.
Education Source provides scholarly research and information to meet the needs of education students, professionals, and policy makers. It covers all levels of education from early childhood to higher education as well as all educational specialties such as multilingual education, health education, and testing.
Health Reference Center Academic provides access to full-text nursing and allied health journals found in the Health & Wellness Resource Center. It is the perfect resource for up-to-date information on the complete range of health care topics.
PsycArticles provides full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. It contains more than 100,000 articles from 59 journals ranging in date from 1894 to the present.