Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Peace and Justice Institute at Valencia College
The Peace and Justice Institute at Valencia College promotes peace and justice for all. Our aim is to nurture an inclusive, caring and respectful environment on campus and within our community - one where conflict leads to growth and transformation rather than violence or aggression.
The Initiative is guided by its mission: All People, All Voices, All Matter: Making a difference by intentionally engaging in practices and principles that explore, advocate, and honor the dignity of self, others, and the earth.
Principles: How We Treat Each Other
Kroc Institute for International Peace Studies
Founded at the University of Notre Dame in 1986, the Kroc Institute focuses on research on a wide range of issues relating to peace and justice and the causes of violent conflict. The Kroc Institute also offers degrees in peace studies to Ph.D., master's, and undergraduate students.
What is Peace Studies?
J. Doug Archer, Reference and Peace Studies Librarian, Hesburgh Libraries at University of Notre Dame and Liaison to the Kroc Institute for International Peace Studies has written a Peace Studies Research Guide.
Other Research Guides
Georgetown Institute for Women, Peacekeeping, and Security
Maintains a research repository, the world's premier online collection of resources, is the go-to place for policymakers, practitioners, thought-leaders, academics and students seeking information on women, peace and security.
UN Documentation: Peacekeeping Research Guide
The Security Council establishes peacekeeping operations and monitors the performance of their mandates. The General Assembly considers the financial aspects of peacekeeping and monitors the budget of the missions. This guide provides an overview of the primary documentation in both organs relating to the creation and execution of peacekeeping operations.
#CharlottesvilleCurriculum is a twitter account for educators to share resources on teaching race, racism, racial justice, hatred/tolerance, white supremacy, and police violence. It will hopefully provide context for teachers to explain recent events to students including Ferguson, Charleston and Charlottesville.
Newest Books on Peace and Justice at Valencia College
Promoting Global Peace and Civic Engagement Through Education by
Call Number: JZ5534 .P76 2016
Publication Date: 2016-05-04
The Nonviolence Handbook by
Call Number: E Book and West HM1281.N343 2014
Publication Date: 2014-04-14
Peacebuilding in Community Colleges by
Call Number: HD42.P43 2013
Publication Date: 2013-06-01
Champions for Peace by
Call Number: Osceola JZ5540.S74 2014
Publication Date: 2013-12-19
Charleston Syllabus by
Call Number: E184.A1 C4445 2016
Publication Date: 2016-05-15
They Can't Kill Us All by
Call Number: E184 .A1 L69 2016
Publication Date: 2016-11-15
E Books on Peace at Valencia College
Search of E Books at Valencia College, keyword peace. (Must be logged in to Atlas).
Reference Books and Special Collections, East Campus
The Oxford International Encyclopedia of Peace by
Call Number: EAST REF JZ5533.O95 2010
Publication Date: 2010-02-18
Encyclopedia of Conflict Resolution by
Call Number: EAST REF HM136.B783 1997
Publication Date: 1997-11-01
Peace and Social Justice Collection
Valencia catalog search limited to Peace and Social Justice Collection, East Campus. (Must be logged in to Atlas).
Resources on Racial Segregation in America, Central Florida, and Orlando
Articles and Books for background and historical information on racial segregation including redlining.
Harmonious Inequality? Zoning, Public Housing, and Orlando’s Separate City, 1920-1945, Kristin Larsen, Journal of Planning History, Volume: 1 issue: 2, page(s): 154-180, Issue published: May 1, 2002
In Orlando, Florida, a relatively small, agricultural, and tourist-based southern community, local officials marshaled an array of planning strategies to define and maintain racial boundaries while projecting an image of African American support for this system. The intent was to allay fear among tourists and potential residents that Orlando suffered from racial tension. Building on the work of Silver and Moeser, this study shows that Orlando developed a separate black city through planning for the spatial arrangement of cities on the basis of segregationist goals.
How Redlining’s Racist Effects Lasted for Decades, Emily Badger Aug 24, 2017, NYT
The new research reaffirms the role of government policy in shaping racial disparities in America in access to housing, credit and wealth accumulation. And as the country grapples with the blurred lines between past racism and present-day outcomes, this new data illustrates how such history lives on.
Crossing division street : an oral history of the African-American community in Orlando by
Call Number: F319.O7 B76 2005
Publication Date: 2005
Community in context ; Building a community ; Civil rights and wrongs ; Teaching and learning ; Friends and neighbors ; Celebrating the past ; Looking to the future
The Color of Law by
Call Number: E185.61 .R8185 2017
Publication Date: 2017-05-02
Richard Rothstein explodes the myth that America's cities came to be racially divided through de facto segregation -- that is, through individual prejudices, income differences, or the actions of private institutions like banks and real estate agencies. Rather, The Color of Law incontrovertibly makes it clear that it was de jure segregation -- the laws and policy decisions passed by local, state, and federal governments--that actually promoted the discriminatory patterns that continue to this day.
United States Institute of Peace
Works to prevent, mitigate, and resolve violent conflict around the world. USIP does this by engaging directly in conflict zones and by providing analysis, education, and resources to those working for peace. Provides access to articles and publications.
World Peace Library
A free educational resource containing over 300 audio recordings with inspirational stories, skills training and powerful solutions by the world’s top peacebuilders, social change leaders, scientists, Indigenous elders and spiritual mentors.
Global Peace Index
The world’s leading measure of national peacefulness. The Institute for Economics & Peace ranks 162 nations according to their ‘absence of violence’.
Plowshares Digital Archive of Peace Studies
A Peace Studies collaborative of Earlham, Goshen, and Manchester colleges; provides primary documents - including minutes, diaries, correspondence, pamphlets, newspapers and periodicals - ranging in date from the 1700s to the present.
Carnegie Endowment for International Peace
A unique global network of policy research centers in Russia, China, Europe, the Middle East, and the United States. Research | Publications tab includes access to full text of books.
Center for Systemic Peace
The Center continually monitors political behavior in each of the world's major states, that is, all those with current populations greater than 500,000 (167 countries in 2014) and reports on emerging issues and persisting conditions related to the problems of political violence and "state failure."
International Crisis Group
The International Crisis Group is an independent, non-profit, non-governmental organization committed to preventing and resolving deadly conflict. Resources include publications and multimedia.
SIPRI Stocckholm International Peace Research Institute
SIPRI is an independent international institute dedicated to research into conflict, armaments, arms control and disarmament and produces research, access to publications, and databases.
Global Policy Forum
Global Policy Forum is an independent policy watchdog that monitors the work of the United Nations and scrutinizes global policymaking. We promote accountability and citizen participation in decisions on peace and security, social justice and international law.
The Charleston Syllabus is a list of readings that educators can use to broach conversations in the classroom about the horrendous events that unfolded in Charleston, South Carolina on the evening of June 17, 2015. These readings provide valuable information about the history of racial violence in this country and contextualize the history of race relations in South Carolina and the United States in general. They also offer insights on race, racial identities, global white supremacy and black resistance. All readings are arranged by date of publication.