Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

REA 1105 (Earle): Finding Resources

A guide to help students learn about research sources in Professor Earle's College Reading Course at the Osceola Campus

Accessing Databases

To access the library databases to find articles, log into your Atlas account and click the "Search the Library" link in the Libraries box on the left side of the page. Once the library catalog opens, you will see the "Databases A-Z" or "Databases by Subject" boxes in red at the top center of the page, above the search box. Then find the database you want in the alphabetical list, and connect. Click the icon below to access the Atlas login page.

 

  Sometimes you may be prompted to log into the library site using a borrower ID and PIN. Use your VID number (with the V) as the borrower ID. Your PIN is the last four digits of your VID number.

Finding Books

Search the Library Catalog below to find books, eBooks, videos, and eVideos

Finding Articles

The right database will depend on the topic of your research. Below are some multi-disciplinary databases that contain articles from nearly all subjects.

Databases for scholarly journals, magazines, and trade publications:

Databases for newspaper articles:

Databases for Persuasive Essays:

(Newspaper editorial articles are also considered persuasive, though may not contain evidence needed to be considered an academic source - use your judgment)