Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Searching Library Databases
On this tab, students can find more in-depth information related to their topic. Explore news articles, documentaries, e-books, or academic journal articles.
On this tab review:
- What Are Databases and Why You Need Them
- 4 Advantages to Searching a Database
- Finding an e-Book
- Finding Stories & Examples
- Finding Testimonies & In Depth Research
- Allow you to filter results before or after your search (for example by only reviewing magazine articles or articles published most recently, etc.)
- Provide access to search results that are based on your keywords and/or limiters that you select (not your previous searches)
- Provide access to more credible sources (authors, publications, peer-review)
Learn more about peer-review (from Eastern Michigan University Library)
- Most help you to generate citation
Finding an e-Book
For your topic, it might be best to use an e-book to find in-depth information. Books provide comprehensive information. It may help to think of each chapter as a single article which focuses on one aspect of a topic. Generally, a book compiles chapters which focus on a specific aspect of your topic into one overarching book.
Additionally reference books, which provide a brief summary of a topic, are a good place to start when you are learning about an unfamiliar topic.
Finding Stories & Examples
News reports and magazine features are great places to look for stories and examples. Films on Demand contains educational videos and documentaries that are also good sources for stories.
This stories or examples can help to create a humanizing feature for your audience particularly when partnered with factual information.
Finding Testimonies & In Depth Research
Academic (scholarly) journals and trade publications are often written by experts in specific fields. Subject matter experts will be able to provide you with in-depth research related to your topic.
Consider using a source that has a distinct author versus a reference source which provide general or background information. Search the Internet to learn more about the author's credentials or qualifications to write on the topic. Ask yourself, does the author support their statements with statistics, facts, or background information?
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
"designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database"
Academic OneFile (Gale)
Academic OneFile provides peer-reviewed, full-text articles from leading journals and reference sources. Includes coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and, other subjects.
Funded by: State Library of Florida
"offers a unique perspective on the positive and negative ways humans affect the environment."
Health Source: Consumer Edition (EBSCO)
" information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health"
Global Road Warrior (World Trade Press)
"business travel, telecommunications and business culture reference available in the world."
"published and unpublished sources on thousands of educational topics, with information from RIE (Resources in Education) and CIJE (Current Index to Journals in Education"