Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This guide works best by accessing it within Atlas. Follow these steps:
- Log in to Atlas
- Go to the Courses tab
- Locate the Libraries Channel halfway down the right-hand side of the screen
- Click on Search the Library.
Note: If you do not access this guide thorugh Atlas, you will be prompted for a Borrower ID and PIN when you click on the links to the databases
- Your Borrower ID is the number on the back of your VID card
- Your PIN is the last four digits of your VID
Books and eBooks
Search the library catalog for print books and electronic books on your topic.
When searching the catalog, go into advanced search and limit to West Campus and Books and More.
Finding Books in the Library
To find a book in the library you need the call number, e.g. NB90.Z36 2016
Break it down like this:
NB (this comes after NA, which comes after N)
90 (numbers run from 1-9999, so make sure you pay attention to whether you have a 9, a 90, a 900, or a 9000)
2016 (the publication date)
This call number represents a subject. N is art. NB is specifically sculpture. NB90 is Greek sculpture.
Museum web sites sometimes have good information about the pieces in their collections as well.
Art and Architecture Reference
Art & Architecture Source (EBSCO) Art & Architecture Source covers a broad range of related subjects, from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design. Providing over 600 full-text journals, more than 220 full-text books, and a collection of over 63,0000 images, it is designed for use by a diverse audience, including art scholars, artists, designers, students and general researchers.
Funded by: College (FALSC Group License)
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for thousands of publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. It includes PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
Funded by: Statewide Allocation
In Settings, make sure you set up Valencia as a library link.
This allows you to see Full Text @ VCC in your search results.
If logged in through Atlas, these links are accessible.