Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ENC 1102 (Ruiz): Databases

A guide for research in Professor Ruiz's ENC 1102 class at the Osceola Campus

Accessing Databases

To access the databases below, log into your Atlas account and click the "Search the Library" link in the Libraries box on the left side of the page. Once the library catalog opens, you will see the "Databases A-Z" Link in the top center of the page, above the search box. Click on the database you want to search in the alphabetical list to connect. Click the icon below to access the Atlas login page.

Atlas Login Link

Sometimes you may be prompted to log into the library site using a borrower ID and PIN. Use your VID number (with the V) as the borrower ID. Your PIN is the last four digits of your VID number.

General Databases

The databases below are multidisciplinary, meaning they cover a wide variety of content. Any of the topics from the three prompts may be covered in these databases. 

Prompt 1: Plato's "Allegory of the Cave"

.

Contextualize Platos’ “The Allegory of the Cave” within contemporary times. In other words, what "caves" are there in modern life in which people might be "imprisoned" or feel "imprisoned” in and why? What shadows exist in these caves? Conduct research in order to analyze contemporary events/situations/ideologies in light of Plato’s essay. Remember to engage with Plato’s essay and to formulate an argument based on your findings.

.

The following databases will help you find scholarly literature criticism essays. Search the database using the short story title under "Title (or Name) of Work"

Prompt 2: Collins' "The Hunger Games"

.

................................

Write a research paper where you compare the dystopian society of Panem with contemporary American (USA) society. To do this, focus specifically on the role that entertainment plays both in Panem and in American society. Notice that the Hunger Games are televised and that the tributes (especially Katniss and Peeta) are treated like celebrities- much like it happens on reality TV and competition shows that we watch. In your essay, comment on the role of reality TV and celebrity culture in Panem and in American society. Consider questions such as: What is real and what is manipulated in reality TV and competition shows? And, What does the film The Hunger Games suggest about the present-day United States? Remember that you must formulate an argument. You will be comparing and contrasting two societies, but to what end?

The following databases will help you find scholarly literature criticism essays. Search the database using the short story title under "Title (or Name) of Work"