LibGuides: Veteran's Health: Finding an Article

What is a Library Database?

Suggested Keywords:

Disabled veterans
Homeless veterans
Female veterans
Transgender veterans
VA hospitals
Veterans - Medical care
Veterans' hospitals
Preventative health services
Amputation
Rehabilitation centers
Mental health
Post traumatic stress disorder
Depression
Anxiety
Agent Orange
Gulf War Syndrome
Burn pit exposure
Traumatic brain injuries
Military sexual trauma

Video Tutorials for Searching Gale and EBSCO Databases

Gale and EBSCO are examples of two vendors that provide library databases. The library purchases access to multiple databases from each of these vendors. The videos below will provide an overview of how to search each vendor's databases. Although each database might have slightly different features, they each have items in common such as a search feature, email/share, or citation help.

Suggested Journals

Journal of Military & Veterans' Health
"Contains a range of scientific articles, including original work, historical reviews, editorials, abstracts, opinion pieces and information about the Australian Military Medicine Association." Peer-reviewed journal.
Military Medicine
"Military Medicine is AMSUS’ official peer-reviewed journal. The objective of the journal is to promote awareness of federal medicine by providing a forum for responsible discussion of common ideas and problems relevant to federal healthcare."

Suggested Databases

Explore Background Information and Current News Articles

Florida News Sources (NewsBank)
"Groups together major Florida newspapers."
CQ Researcher (CQ Press)
"Explores a single "hot" issue each week, ranging from social and teen issues to environment, health, education, and science. 44 reports produced each year, including four expanded reports. Includes charts, graphs and sidebar articles."
Issues and Controversies (Infobase Publishing)
"current topics research information, including pro/con discussions of hot issues, newspaper editorials, numerical snapshots of key topics, photos and graphics, and selected historical source documents."
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context)
"online experience for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues."

In Depth Research

APA PsycArticles (EBSCO)
"Provides full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology."
MEDLINE with Full Text (EBSCO)
"full-text journal articles for nearly 1,200 journals with coverage dating back to 1965. Includes information from a broad spectrum of medical fields, such as nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, health care systems, and many more."
CINAHL Complete (EBSCO)
"full-text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 1,300 journals indexed in CINAHL"
ScienceDirect (Elsevier)
"information solution for researchers, teachers, students, health care professionals and information professionals . It combines authoritative, full-text scientific, technical and health publications."
Military & Government Collection (EBSCO)
"Designed to offer current news and information to all branches of the military, with a thorough collection of military titles, trade publications and newsweeklies."
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
"designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals."
Academic OneFile (Gale)
"provides peer-reviewed, full-text articles from leading journals and reference sources. Includes coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and, other subjects."
Military and Intelligence (Gale OneFile) (Gale)
"A searchable Military and Intelligence database."

Explore Additional Library Databases by Subject
Explore PubMed
PubMed®, a database from the National Library of Medicine, “comprises more than 32 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.”

Veteran's Health: Finding an Article

Overview

The library provides access to a variety of resources: scholarly research articles, magazine articles, news articles, e-books, streaming videos, and more. Oftentimes, these resources are grouped together by subject in different databases.

What is a Library Database?

Video Tutorials for Searching Gale and EBSCO Databases

Suggested Journals

Suggested Databases