Skip to main content

ENC 1101 (Smith) Social Justice & Music: Social Justice Paper

A guide to help students find and cite sources for the social justice/music assignment.

Key Sources

Databases

**Note: You must be logged into Atlas or through your Borrower ID/PIN to access the databases.**

Logo for Opposing Viewpoints in Context

 

 

 

 

Opposing Viewpoints in Context has great resources about social issues and other hot topics. With pro/con arguments, journal articles, reference sources, statistics, charts, magazine & newspaper articles, images, audio, and videos, Opposing Viewpoints is sure to have your research needs covered. 

 

Access World News logo that takes users to database when they click on it

Access World News provides content from all over the world.

TIPS:

  • Click More Search Options to get to the Advanced Search
  • To get more relevant results, choose "Headline" or "Lead/First Paragraph" in the Select a Field option
  • Select "Best Match" for the Sort by option

 

Films on Demand logo

Looking for a documentary, interview, or news coverage? Films on Demand has those and more on a variety of subjects. 


     

Books

The Speech Reference section in the library has several books for you to browse on social justice topics. Ask a librarian to show you where you can find these informative books. 

Looking for something you can check out? Log in to Atlas and select the Search the Library link to view the catalog. Search by keyword, title, or author. You can browse books at the East Campus Library or request for a book to be delivered from another campus. Selecting the checkbox next to Available for Checkout will pull up all books and eBooks that are ready to read. Here are some examples of books that are available in the library:


Other Sources

Pew Research Center is a great place to go to get public opinions and statistics on topics. 

How to Find the Databases

The News and Current Events databases are best suited to help you with your Social Justice paper. 

Follow these steps to access the library's online sources:

1. Log in to Atlas.

2. Click the "Search the Library" link. You will then be brought to the home page to search for sources. 

3. Know the name of the database you're looking for? Click the red Databases A-Z button or this link

Don't know the name of the database? Click the red Databases by Subject button or this link.

Database Tips

  • Are you being asked to log in with a Borrower's ID and PIN? 
    • Borrower's ID is your Valencia ID (VID) # which is found on your student ID or Atlas account
    • Borrower's PIN is the last four digits of your VID
  • The citation and email tools are your friends!
    • Save articles you find by emailing them to yourself. You can also get citations for your sources from databases. Word of caution: Double check the database citations since they aren't always correct. How do you check the citations? Click the "MLA Citation Guide" red tab near the top of the page to get access to Valencia's color-coded citation guides. 

Keeping up with the Keywords

Did you know there is a special way to search in the databases? Searching like you would in Google isn't the way to go for databases. Pulling key words from your research question will help you get more precise results. Let's look at an example of a research question with the key words in bold.

What are the effects of consuming caffeine on a daily basis?

You typed in each key word into its own search box, but you didn't get the results you were hoping for. You might have to think of different key words to search with. Brainstorming or using a thesaurus is a great way to come up with more key words:

Effects Caffeine Consume Daily
Impacts Stimulant Ingest Everyday
Consequences Energy drink Intake

Regular


When searching in databases, there is usually an option to search using AND & OR. How do these words impact your searches?

Search results for effects AND caffeine must contain all three key words. Searching with AND gives you less (but more specific) results. 

Search results for effects OR caffeine must only contain one of the key words. Searching with OR gives you more results (but usually less specific) results.