Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ENC 1102 (Nater) - Career Path Essay: Databases

This guide is designed to help students with library research as they complete assignments in Professor Nater's ENC 1102 course.

Accessing Databases

To access the databases to the right, log into your Atlas account and click the "Search the Library" link on the right side of the "My Courses" tab. Once the library catalog opens, you will see the "Databases A-Z" Link in the top center of the page, above the search box. Then find the database you want in the alphabetical list, and connect. Click the icon below to access the Atlas login page.

You can also access databases by using your Borrower ID (your VID number; including the V) and PIN (the last four digits of your VID number).  You can select a database from the Alphabetical or Subject list.  Click the icon below to log into the library's databases using your borrower ID and PIN.

Clicking the database links within this guide without logging into Atlas will require you to log in using your VID.

Career Databases

http://www.leominsterlibrary.org/images/fergusons_career.gif

Fergusons Career Guidance Center: The Career Guidance Center provides career research assistance from Facts on File's Encyclopedia of Careers and Vocational Guidance and Career Opportunities, as well as archived issues of the journal Career Opportunities News.

Multi-Disciplinary Databases

Academic Search Complete is a multi-disciplinary database with access to articles from many different disciplines such as Literature, Health, Science, Business, and more.

 

Image result for academic one file

Academic OneFile (Gale) provides peer-reviewed, full-text articles from leading journals and reference sources. Includes coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and, other subjects.

 

Newsstand is an international newspaper database that covers major world newspapers, such as the New York Times, Los Angeles Times, The Washington Post, The Daily Mail, The Wall Street Journal, and more.

Subject Specific Databases

Education Source provides scholarly research and information to meet the needs of education students, professionals, and policy makers. It covers all levels of education from early childhood to higher education as well as all educational specialties such as multilingual education, health education, and testing.

 

Business Source Complete contains full-text journal articles, financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.

The Valencia College libraries do not welcome solicitation of resources to be added to our LibGuides. This includes but is not limited to vendors, search engine optimizers, placement of ads, products, or any other requests. Our LibGuides are carefully curated resources developed in partnership with faculty, staff, and students to support specific assignments, courses, events, and other related purposes at Valencia College. The Valencia libraries reserve the right to ignore LibGuide resource solicitations, and/or block persistent requests from groups or individuals to add or promote links in our LibGuides.