Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

BSC 1020 (Laurent): Databases

This is a guide to help students with research assignments in Professor Laurent's BSC1020 class at the Poinciana Campus.

What is an Empirical Article?

Your assignment requires you to find an empirical article, an article based on original scientific research. An empirical article is an article from the library databases that presents research that is based on actual observations or experiments conducted by the author. 

How can I tell if an article is an empirical study?

  • Check the source: Empirical articles are usually found in scholarly journals, not magazines or newspapers. Journals like Genetics and Animal Biology both publish studies that are empirical. 
  • Read the abstract (summary): If it mentions any study, questionnaires, participants, or measurements that the author conducted, it is empirical.
  • Format: Many empirical articles are broken down into sections, such as "Methodology", "Results", and "Conclusion." Finding these or similar headings in an article is a good indication that it involves a study or experiment.
  • Length: Empirical articles are usually very lengthy, at least 5 pages.
  • References: Does the article have references listed at the end? Scholarly researchers have to cite their sources, just like you!

If in doubt, always ask your instructor or a librarian!

Search Tip:

Health Databases

 

Applied Science and Technology offers extensive coverage of research and development within the applied sciences.

 

CINAHL Complete provides some of the most comprehensive coverage of full-text for nursing & allied health journals with access to more than 1,300 journals. CINAHL®Complete is the definitive research tool for all areas of nursing & allied health literature.

 

GreenFILE offers a unique perspective on the positive and negative ways humans affect the environment. Drawing on the connection between the environment and disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology, GreenFILE serves as an informative resource for anyone concerned about the issues facing our planet.

 

MEDLINE with Full Text is an essential tool for medical research providing full text for thousands of medical journals. These journals cover a wide range of subjects within the biomedical and health fields.

 

PsycArticles provides full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. It contains more than 100,000 articles from 59 journals ranging in date from 1894 to the present.

 

Health Reference Center Academic offers an advanced interface to the full-text nursing and allied health journals dating back to 1980 in the Health and Wellness Resource Center.

 

Multi-Disciplinary Database

Academic Search Complete is a multi-disciplinary database with access to articles from many different disciplines such as Literature, Health, Science, Business, and more.

 

Image result for jstor

JSTOR has access to back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Over 700 titles available.

 

Academic OneFile contains peer-reviewed, full-text articles from leading journals and reference sources and includes coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, and, other subjects.
 

Free database

PubMed is free database that comprises more than 22 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar Search

Streaming Video

Films on Demand includes is a database of streaming video from large and small production companies covering a wide range of subjects including documentaries, television broadcasts, educational films, and more.