Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
To access the databases below, log into your Atlas account and click the "Search the Library" link in the Libraries box on the left side of the page. Once the library catalog opens, you will see the "Databases A-Z" Link in the top center of the page, above the search box. Click on the database you want to search in the alphabetical list to connect. Click the icon below to access the Atlas login page.
Sometimes you may be prompted to log into the library site using a borrower ID and PIN. Use your VID number (with the V) as the borrower ID. Your PIN is the last four digits of your VID number.
Explore Your Topic
A quick Google search, book search, or some library databases can help you find a topic or narrow the focus of your topic. Aside from Google and the library catalog search, some helpful databases are listed below to get you started.
There are two ways to search for books and other library items at the Valencia College Libraries:
1) Log into your Atlas account by clicking the icon below, and click the "Search the Library" link in the Libraries box on the left side of the "My Atlas" tab
2) Visit the library catalog without logging in by clicking the box below, and clicking the yellow "Library Catalog" tab. Once you get your search results, click "Books from the Catalog" on the left side of the results.
There are benefits to accessing the catalog through Atlas. You will be able to hold or request books online, so they are available when you visit a campus library. However, the link below will grant you access to the catalog in the event of an Atlas outage.
Search the Valencia Libraries Catalog below:
The following databases contain academic journal articles that can help with your research. Academic journal articles (sometimes known as scholarly articles) usually contain much more original research than other sources, but as a result can have a very narrow focus and be difficult to comprehend.
Global Issues in Context (Gale)
Offers global perspectives on issues of international importance and current world events and topics in the news related to these issues. It provides information seekers with a framework to better understand 21st-century issues and events while highlighting global connections and the interdependence of all nations. This database provides a variety of sources, including journal and newspaper articles.
Latino American Experience (Greenwood Electronic Media)
Virtual library of over 200 volumes of content dedicated to the history and culture of Latinos - the largest and fastest-growing minority in the U.S. LAE features several recently published reference products from Greenwood, Arte Publico Press, Indiana University press and Columbia University.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
is a multi-disciplinary database with access to articles from many different disciplines such as Literature, Health, Science, Business, and more.
Pop Culture Universe (ABC CLIO)
is an authoritative, yet irresistible, digital library of information on American and world popular culture, past and present (from 1900 to current times).
Biography in Context (Gale)
An online experience for those seeking contextual information on the world's most influential people.
Access back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Over 700 titles available.
The databases listed below can help you find newspaper articles on your chosen topic. Each has a different regional focus, so consider what would be best to find the most relevant information - a newspaper from a Latin country, the United States, or even a specific state?
Access World News (NewsBank)
Find current, diverse global perspectives on topics related to controversial issues, the environment, health, education, science, the arts, literature, business, economics, criminal justice, and more from a variety of current and retrospective news media including newspapers, newswires, broadcast transcripts, blogs, periodicals, videos and web-only modules.
Access World News: USA (NewsBank)
Find current, diverse perspectives on topics related to controversial issues, the environment, health, education, science, the arts, literature, business, economics, criminal justice, and more from a variety of current and retrospective news media including newspapers, newswires, broadcast transcripts, blogs, periodicals, videos and web-only content.
New York Times - Current (Gale)
Provides national and international news, opinion and commentary; published in a national and a New York metropolitan edition. Includes local, and state news, science, sports, arts and entertainment, and business and finance news. Covers January 1, 1985 - Current.
New York Times - Historical (ProQuest)
Full-text and full-image articles for The New York Times®, covering the period from 1851-2007.
Access World News: Florida (NewsBank)
Groups together major Florida newspapers.
Orlando Sentinel (NewsBank)
Daily newspaper of Orlando, Florida, and surrounding areas.
You are free to use any credible web site sources, as long as they have a named author. Visit the "Research Tips" tab to find some Google tips and evaluation tools to ensure you're using credible sites. Some web sites are listed below to help you get started.