Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ENC 1102 (Vrhovac): Finding Articles

Overview

The library provides access to a variety of resources: scholarly research articles, magazine articles, news articles, e-books, streaming videos, and more. These resources are grouped together in different databases.

Suggested Databases

The Oxford English Dictionary provides present-day and/or historical meanings of words.

Scholarly journal (academic journal) articles provide access to expert research studies about a topic.

Explore your topic in popular magazines or newspapers which often include brief overviews written by journalists or other professional writers. Some pieces are also written by everyday citizens. These are often called opinion pieces or letters to the editor.

Explore additional library resources by explore a database grouped together by subject area.

Video Tutorials for Searching Gale and EBSCO Databases

Gale and EBSCO are examples of two vendors that provide library databases. The library purchases access to multiple databases from each of these vendors. The videos below will provide an overview of how to search each vendor's databases. Although each database might have slightly different features, they each have items in common such as a search feature, email/share, or citation help.