Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

SPC 1608 (Merceron): Databases

This guide is designed to help students with library research as they complete assignments in SPC1608 with Professor Merceron at the Poinciana Campus.

Database Searching

When searching a database, you will use the keywords you created to search for journal articles. In the Advanced Search of most databases, there will be several search boxes separated by the word AND. Use one keyword or phrase per box to achieve relevant search results. Here's an example from Academic Search Complete.

Accessing Databases

To access the library databases listed in this guide, log into your Atlas account and click the "Search the Library" link in the upper left corner on the "My Atlas" tab.

Once the library catalog opens, you will see the "Databases A-Z" Link in the top center of the page, above the search box. Then find the database you want in the alphabetical list and connect. Click the icon below to access the Atlas login page.

 

During Atlas outages, click on the icon below to access the library catalog, then follow the instructions above.

 

General Database

 

Academic Search Complete is a multi-disciplinary database with access to articles from many different disciplines such as Literature, Health, Science, Business, and more.

Current Events Databases

 

Opposing Viewpoints in Context is an online database for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. It features updated viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files, and links to websites.

 

 

 

Issues and Controversies offers a wealth of current topics research information, including pro/con discussions of hot issues, newspaper editorials, numerical snapshots of key topics, photos and graphics, and selected historical source documents.

 

Global Issues in Context offers global perspectives on issues of international importance and current world events and topics in the news related to these issues. This database ties together various sources to present a rich analysis of issues – social, political, military, economic, environmental, science-related, health-related, cultural – and headlines in world hot spots.

Culture Databases

 

Image result for pop culture universe

Pop Culture Universe is an authoritative digital library of information on American popular culture and popular culture from around the world, past and present (from 1900 to current times). This database is a good resource for 20th-century icons.

global

Global Road Warrior has a wealth of information on facts for every country worldwide. Simply search for your country or choose it from the drop-down list to learn more about its culture, customs, communication, etc.

 

World Religions is a comprehensive reference resource that provides a virtual textbook that covers religion across the globe, making student research on faith and belief across humanity easier and enabling a deeper understanding of the complex issues facing us in the 21st century.

The Valencia College libraries do not welcome solicitation of resources to be added to our LibGuides. This includes but is not limited to vendors, search engine optimizers, placement of ads, products, or any other requests. Our LibGuides are carefully curated resources developed in partnership with faculty, staff, and students to support specific assignments, courses, events, and other related purposes at Valencia College. The Valencia libraries reserve the right to ignore LibGuide resource solicitations, and/or block persistent requests from groups or individuals to add or promote links in our LibGuides.