Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Valencia College libraries do not welcome solicitation of resources to be added to our LibGuides. This includes but is not limited to vendors, search engine optimizers, placement of ads, products, or any other requests. Our LibGuides are carefully curated resources developed in partnership with faculty, staff, and students to support specific assignments, courses, events, and other related purposes at Valencia College. The Valencia libraries reserve the right to ignore LibGuide resource solicitations, and/or block persistent requests from groups or individuals to add or promote links in our LibGuides.
Sources for Movie Titles, Themes, and Reviews
A Companion to Film Theory by
Call Number: PN1995 -- .B495 1999eb
Publication Date: 2008-04-15
This volume of specially commissioned work by experts in the field of film studies presents material under a variety of headings, including class, race, gender, queer theory, nation, stars, ethnography, authorship, and spectatorship; offers an international approach to the subject, including of topics such as genre, image, sound, editing, culture industries, early cinema, classical Hollywood, and TV relations and technology. Considers cinema studies in relation to other forms of knowledge, such as critical studies, anthropology, and literature.
Concepts in Film Theory by
Call Number: PN1995.A49 1984
Publication Date: 1984-03-15
Concepts in Film Theory is a continuation of Dudley Andrew's classic, The Major Film Theories. In writing now about contemporary theory, Andrew focuses on the key concepts in film study -- perception, representation, signification, narrative structure, adaptation, evaluation, identification, figuration, and interpretation. Beginning with an introductory chapter on the current state of film theory, Andrew goes on to build an overall view of film, presenting his own ideas on each concept, and giving a sense of the interdependence of these concepts. Andrew provides lucid explanations of theories which involve perceptual psychology and structuralism; semiotics and psychoanalysis; hermeneutics and genre study. His clear approach to these often obscure theories enables students to acquire the background they need to enrich their understanding of film -- and of art.
European Film Theory by
Call Number: PN1993.5.E8 -- E9744 2008eb
Publication Date: 2009-09-10
European Film Theory explores its philosophical origins, the 'culture wars' between 'Continental' and 'Analytical' film theory and philosophy, the major discursive and epistemological shifts in the history of Continental film theory, the relationship between Continental philosophy of art and philosophy of history and European film theory.
Visionary Film by
Call Number: PN1995.9.E96S53 2002
Publication Date: 2002-10-03
Visionary Film has remained the standard text on American avant-garde film since the publication of its first edition in 1974. Now P. Adams Sitney has once again revised and updated this classic work, restoring a chapter on the films of Gregory J. Markopoulos and bringing his discussion of the principal genres and major filmmakers up to the year 2000.
A Companion to the Gangster Film by
Call Number: PN1995.9.G3 .C667 2019
Publication Date: 2018-11-12
A Companion to the Gangster Film presents a comprehensive overview of the newest scholarship on the contemporary gangster film genre as a global phenomenon. While gangster films are one of America's most popular genres, gangster movies appear in every film industry across the world.
Film Noir by
Call Number: PN1995.9.F54 -- L84 2012eb
Publication Date: 2012-01-04
Film Noir traces the historical development of the genre, usefully exploring the relations between the films of the 1940s and 1950s that established the "noir" universe and the more recent films in which it has been frequently revived. Presents an in-depth analysis of six key films, each exemplifying important trends of film noir: Murder, My Sweet; Out of the Past; Kiss Me Deadly; The Long Goodbye; Chinatown; and Seven.
Historical Dictionary of Science Fiction Cinema by
Call Number: PN1995.9.S26 -- B566 2010eb
Publication Date: 2010-09-01
The Historical Dictionary of Science Fiction Cinema provides broad coverage of the people, films, companies, techniques, themes, and subgenres that have made science fiction cinema such a vital part of world cinema. This is done through a chronology, an introductory essay, a bibliography, and over 300 cross-referenced dictionary entries.