Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ENC 1102 (Wells): Home

Start Here

The databases listed on this page require a login. For access:

  1. Go to your Atlas account and log in.
  2. Click on the Search the Library link, under the "Courses" tab.
  3. On the page that follows, click Databases A-Z or Databases by Subject.
  4. Click on the name of the database, e.g. Academic Search Complete.

Note: If you do not access this guide through Atlas, you will be prompted for a Borrower ID and PIN when you click on the links to the databases

  • Your Borrower ID is the number is your VID card, including the 'V'
  • Your PIN is the last four digits of your VID

MLA Citation

Remember that although many of the library databases provide MLA citations for electronic sources, it is your responsibility as a student to ensure that all of your citations are correct. 

Be sure to compare any database generated citations to the library's MLA guides online (link below), the official MLA Handbook (located at the second floor Reference Desk), or your Little Seagull Handbook.

Smartthinking

Smartthinking Logo

Access Smartthing within Atlas.  Follow these steps:

  1. Log in to Atlas
  2. Go to the Courses tab
  3. From the My Courses box, click on 'Tutoring (online)'

Overview Sources

The following databases are a good place to start for overview articles:

 

 

Library Catalog

Search the library catalog to find books or ebooks. 

Here are a few ebooks that may be useful:

Additional Databases

When doing academic research, it is important to be able to figure out how to pick a database to use. Sometimes a professor will assign you a database, but other times you have to pick your own.

To do this,

  • Display the list of library databases by subject. Most libraries have one.
  • Think about how your topic might fit into the broad subject categories. There is often more than one subject you could pick.
  • Display the list of databases in that particular category.
  • Pick one.

Some things to think about when looking at a database

  • What source types does it contain?
    • scholarly journal articles
    • overview articles from reference books
    • magazine articles
    • newspaper articles
    • videos
  • What are its search features?
  • Is the information recent or historical?

West Campus Librarians

The Valencia College libraries do not welcome solicitation of resources to be added to our LibGuides. This includes but is not limited to vendors, search engine optimizers, placement of ads, products, or any other requests. Our LibGuides are carefully curated resources developed in partnership with faculty, staff, and students to support specific assignments, courses, events, and other related purposes at Valencia College. The Valencia libraries reserve the right to ignore LibGuide resource solicitations, and/or block persistent requests from groups or individuals to add or promote links in our LibGuides.