Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Downtown Campus Library: Everything You Need to Know: About Databases

This guide is a navigational tool to library resources, databases, statistics and citation guides.

What is a Database

"Database" is a word that means a collection of something. Library Databases are collections of articles, images, video clips and other documents you can use for college-level research. The library subscribes to these resources each year, so they are only available to Valencia students, faculty and staff.

The contents of a database are different from the web sites you can find through Google and other search engines. They are specifically meant for college students and researchers to find information about topics.

How to Access Databases

How to Choose a Database

Which of the 200+ database links should you click on? The long list can be quite overwhelming.

From the A-Z Database page, you can select a database by subject, type or vendor.  You may even search for a particular database by typing your term in the "Search for Databases" search box.

If you search a database by clicking on the dropdown arrow in the "All Subjects" box, consider if your topic will fit into one or more of the subject categories.    For example, the topic "AIDS in Africa" could fit into several categories: Health & Medicine, News & Current Events, General.

Expand the categories to see a list of databases for that subject. Click on the blue "i" icon to get details about each database.

Inside a Database

These files represent an example of the contents of one library database, Academic Search Complete. Different databases may look and function differently, but this will give you a visual idea of what a database is.