Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ENC 1101 (Glassie): Databases

A guide to help students complete research in Professor Glassie's Composition I classes at the Osceola Campus.

Accessing Databases

To access the databases to the right, log into your Atlas account and click the "Search the Library" link on the right side of the "My Courses" tab. Once the library catalog opens, you will see the "Databases A-Z" Link in the top center of the page, above the search box. Then find the database you want in the alphabetical list, and connect.

If the library is accessed through Atlas, there is no need to login again.

You can also access databases by using your Borrower ID (your VID number; including the V) and PIN (the last four digits of your VID number).  You can select a databse from the Alphabetical or Subject list.  Click the icon below to log into the library's databases using your borrower ID and PIN.

Library page login

 

Clicking the database links within this guide without logging into Atlas will require you to log in using your VID.

Multi-Disciplinary Databases

 

Academic search complete

Academic Search Complete is a multi-disciplinary database with access to articles from many different disciplines such as Literature, Health, Science, Business, and more.

Current Events Databases

Issues and Controversies offers a wealth of current topics research information, including pro/con discussions of hot issues, newspaper editorials, numerical snapshots of key topics, photos and graphics, and selected historical source documents.

 

Opposing Viewpoints in Context is an online database for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. It features continuously updated viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to web sites.

 

Global Issues in Context offers global perspectives on issues of international importance and current world events and topics in the news related to these issues. Not a pro and con database, Global Issues in Context ties together a variety of sources to present a rich analysis of issues – social, political, military, economic, environmental, science related, health related, cultural – and headlines in world hot spots.

Related image

Points of View Reference Center is a database designed to assist researchers in understanding the full scope of a wide range of controversial subjects. It features a series of full-text essays representing opposing viewpoints on a variety of important issues.

 

America's News is a comprehensive national news resource offering the complete electronic editions of more than 600 U.S. newspapers, including The New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and Washington Post. America's Newspapers also includes many local Florida newspapers, and their Spanish-language versions, where available.