Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ENC 1101 (Govan): Databases

This guide is designed to help students with library research as they complete assignments in Professor Govan's ENC 1101 course.

Accessing Databases

To access the databases to the right, log into your Atlas account and click the "Search the Library" link on the right side of the "My Courses" tab. Once the library catalog opens, you will see the "Databases A-Z" Link in the top center of the page, above the search box. Then find the database you want in the alphabetical list, and connect. Click the icon below to access the Atlas login page.

You can also access databases by using your Borrower ID (your VID number; including the V) and PIN (the last four digits of your VID number).  You can select a database from the Alphabetical or Subject list.  Click the icon below to log into the library's databases using your borrower ID and PIN.

Clicking the database links within this guide without logging into Atlas will require you to log in using your VID.

Search Google Scholar

Google Scholar can also be used to find scholarly articles. Note that not all may be accessible or free to access.

Google Scholar Search

Multi-Disciplinary Databases

Academic Search Complete is a multi-disciplinary database with access to articles from many different disciplines such as Literature, Health, Science, Business, and more.

 

Image result for academic one file

Academic OneFile (Gale) provides peer-reviewed, full-text articles from leading journals and reference sources. Includes coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and, other subjects.

 

Image result for newsbank

NewsBank is an international newspaper database that covers major world newspapers, such as the New York Times, Los Angeles Times, The Washington Post, The Daily Mail, The Wall Street Journal, and more.

Current Events Databases

Opposing Viewpoints in Context is an online database for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. It features continuously updated viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to websites.

 

Related image

Points of View Reference Center is a database designed to assist researchers in understanding the full scope of a wide range of controversial subjects. It features a series of full-text essays representing opposing viewpoints on a variety of important issues.

Subject Specific Databases

Health Reference Center Academic offers access to full-text nursing and allied health journals, encyclopedias, and other reference sources

 

Education Source provides scholarly research and information to meet the needs of education students, professionals, and policy makers. It covers all levels of education from early childhood to higher education as well as all educational specialties such as multilingual education, health education, and testing.

 

Educator's Reference Complete provides full text for titles in the Eric database and covers multiple levels of education from preschool to college, and every educational specialty--such as technology, bilingual education, health education, and testing. It also provides insight on issues in administration, funding, and policy.

 

Business Source Complete contains full-text journal articles, financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.