Skip to main content

BSC 1005 (Gratereaux): Databases

This guide is designed to help students with library research as they complete assignments in BSC1005 with Professor Gratereaux at the Poinciana Campus.

Search Terms

When searching the library databases for information related to the coronavirus, try using the following keywords:

COVID 19

or

Coronavirus 2019

or

Coronavirus

Accessing Databases

To access the databases below, log into your Atlas account and click the "Search the Library" link in the upper right corner on the "My Atlas" tab. Once the library catalog opens, you will see the "Databases A-Z" Link in the top center of the page, above the search box. Then find the database you want in the alphabetical list, and connect. Click the icon below to access the Atlas login page.

You can also access databases by visiting the Valencia College Library website, clicking the icon below and logging in using your VID number (Borrower ID). Your PIN is the last four digits of your VID number. From there, you can select the "Databases A-Z" option, find the database you want, and connect. Make sure you also select "Valencia College" from the dropdown menu. Click the icon below to log into the library's databases using your borrower ID and PIN.

Clicking the database links within this guide without logging into Atlas will require you to log in using your VID.

Searching the Databases

Useful Databases

Health and Wellness (Gale) is an easy-to-use database with access to full-text nursing and allied health journals, encyclopedias, and other reference sources, as well as informational pamphlets. It also includes the Alternative Health suite of resources.

 

Health Source: Consumer Edition provides information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine, and general health. 

 

Global Issues in Context offers global perspectives on issues of international importance and current world events and topics in the news related to these issues. This database ties together a variety of sources to present a rich analysis of issues – social, political, military, economic, environmental, science-related, health-related, cultural – and headlines in world hot spots. 

 

ScienceDirect contains a wide selection of Life Sciences journal articles and book chapters featuring original research, insightful analysis, current theory and more.  

Research Starters

The library catalog contains a very helpful database that is not listed in the Alphabetical List. This database contains information from specialized reference sources. This is a great source of background information on the coronavirus.