Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ENC 1101 (Barnes) - Speech Assignment: Databases

This guide is designed to help students with library research as they complete assignments for Professor Barnes at the Osceola Campus.

Accessing Databases

To access the databases to the right, log into your Atlas account and click the "Search the Library" link in the upper right corner on the "Courses" tab. Once the library catalog opens, you will see the "Databases A-Z" Link in the top center of the page, above the search box. Then find the database you want in the alphabetical list, and connect. Click the icon below to access the Atlas login page.

You can also access the library's databases by clicking the icon below to log in using your Borrower ID (your VID number) and PIN (the last four digits of your VID number). Remember to select "Valencia College" from the dropdown menu. You can select a database from the Alphabetical or Subject list.

Clicking the database links within this guide without logging into Atlas will require you to log in using your VID.

Biography and Pop Culture Databases

Biography in Context provides an online experience for those seeking contextual information on the world's most influential people. The database includes periodicals and multimedia organized into a user-friendly portal experience while also allowing users to search for people based on name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, or gender as well as keyword and full text.

 

Biography Index cites biographical articles appearing in any of more than 3,000 periodicals, plus some 2,000 current books of individual and collective biography published each year, and biographical material in otherwise non-biographical books. It also includes citations to interviews, obituaries, collections of letters, diaries, memoirs, juvenile literature, book reviews, bibliographies and exhibition reviews. People covered range from antiquity to the present and represent all fields and nationalities.

 

http://www.lcps.org/cms/lib4/VA01000195/Centricity/Domain/53/Pop_Culture.png

Pop Culture Universe is an authoritative, yet irresistible, digital library of information on American and world popular culture, past and present (from 1900 to current times).

History Databases

History Reference Center offers full text from more than 750 history reference books and encyclopedias, and cover-to-cover full text from nearly 60 history magazines. The database also contains 58,000 historical documents; 43,000 biographies of historical figures; more than 12,000 historical photos and maps; and 87 hours of historical film and video.

 

Salem History contains online versions of serveral print reference series such as the Decades series, Milestone Documents, Great Lives from History, and Great Events from History.

 

 Image result for american government database

American Government explains the foundations of our government, connects these concepts to the issues of the day, and examines the strengths and weaknesses of the political and economic systems of the United States by comparing them to those of other countries.

 

http://fostersocialstudies.pbworks.com/f/1282144119/header_middle.png

American History has information from the explorers of the Americas to the gripping issues in today’s headlines, American History investigates the people, events, and stories of our nation’s evolution.

 

 

Multi-Disciplinary Databases

Academic Search Complete is a multi-disciplinary database with access to articles from many different disciplines.

 

JSTOR is a database including articles in the Humanities, Arts, and social sciences.