Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
How to access the databases
If you are not accessing this guide through Canvas, you must login to use the databases. There are two ways to do this.
1. Login via Atlas
- Open a new tab or window
- Login to Atlas http://atlas.valenciacollege.edu
- Go to the Courses tab
- Click on Search the Library on the right-hand side of the screen.
- You are now logged in to the library system and can go back to the guide and click on database links.
2. Login manually
- If Atlas is down or you just don't want to bother getting into it, use this method.
- Click on a database link in the guide.
- The screen asks you to login using your Borrower ID and PIN.
- The Borrower ID is your V number including a capital V at the beginning.
- The PIN is the last four digits of your V number.
At least five secondary (research sources, one of which is from Valencia’s library catalog and/or Valencia’s library databases) along with the chosen story to be discussed.
Your sources should be complete articles (no abstracts) from magazines, newspapers or journal articles.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
Type your topic word in the first search box. In the second box, type words to make the search more specific.
Orlando Sentinel (NewsBank)
This is our local newspaper -- a great source for local issues.
Health and Wellness Resource Center (Gale)
This database will give you lots of information on health and particular medical conditions if you are doing a health-related topic.
A database that is all scholarly articles. Use this if you are not coming up with articles in any of the other databases.
Use subject-specific databases like PsycArticles to find more articles if your topic is related to this discipline.