Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Research Basics (Trone): Library Resources

A guide to help students in Professor Marie Trone's courses at the Osceola Campus

Library Resources

To access the library catalog to find resources, log into your Atlas account and click the "Search the Library" link on the left side of the "Courses" tab. The library catalog will open in a new window. From this page, do a simple keyword search, or click "Advanced Search" for more options. To access articles through library databases, choose "Databases by Subject" in the top red tabs, and visit the Science category to browse relevant databases. If you know the name of the database you need, click "Databases A-Z" and find it in the alphabetical list. 

Sometimes you may be prompted to log into the library site using a borrower ID and PIN. Use your VID number (with the V) as the borrower ID. Your PIN is the last four digits of your VID number.

Helpful Databases

 

GreenFILE offers a unique perspective on the positive and negative ways humans affect the environment. Drawing on the connection between the environment and disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology, GreenFILE serves as an informative resource for anyone concerned about the issues facing our planet.

 

 ScienceDirect is Elsevier’s leading information solution for researchers, teachers, students, health care professionals and information professionals . It combines authoritative, full-text scientific, technical and health publications with smart, intuitive functionality so that you can stay informed in your field, and can work more effectively and efficiently.

 

 Springer eJournal Collection provides full text access in a variety of topics, including mathematics, economics, ecology, religion, history and more. Coverage for most titles begins in the late 1990s. Coverage varies by title. Content is updated daily.

 

 Sage Journals is the world’s 5th largest journals publisher. Our portfolio includes more than 645 journals spanning the Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology, and Medicine, and more than 280 are published on behalf of 225 learned societies and institutions.

 

JSTOR is a database that houses articles in the sciences and social sciences. When using this database, be sure to choose "Advanced Search" and use the check boxes to mark all biology disciplines fitting your search.

 

Academic Search Complete is a multi-disciplinary database with access to articles from many different disciplines such as Literature, Health, Science, Business, and more.

 

CINAHL provides full-text access to more than 560 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health, including biomedicine, alternative medicine, consumer health, and 17 allied health disciplines.

 

TIP: When searching these databases, try searching your term as well as the words experiment, empirical, or study to ensure that your results are empirical in nature.

Search Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a great resource to locate free abstracts, and sometimes full-text articles.

Google Scholar Search

Looking for Abstracts?

If you're completing an assignment that does not require a full-text scholarly journal article, only an abstract (a summary of a scholarly article), PubMed is a good place to find free abstracts, and sometimes full-text articles on science and medical topics.

PubMed is free database that comprises more than 22 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.