Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

AMH 2020 - U.S. History 1877 to Present (Bray): Databases

This guide is designed to help Osceola Campus students with library research as they complete assignments in Professor Bray's U. S. History 1877 to Present classes.

Accessing Databases

How to Access the Databases and/or Online Catalog

The easiest method is to use Atlas.After logging in to Atlas,

  • Click on the “Courses” tab.
  • Click “Search the Library,” on the right side of your screen.
  • Click “Databases A-Z” or “Databases by Subject” to select your database.‚Äč

OR

If Atlas is experiencing difficulties you can use this URL to access the online catalog and databases:

https://union.discover.flvc.org/vc.jsp

OR

From the main Valencia webpage:https://valenciacollege.edu/ use the dropdown menu on the Student Resources Tab to choose Libraries. You can also type “Library” in the Search Box. Scroll down until you see a Red Search Button. Click it. The best way to use the Library Catalog is to click the Library Catalog Tab. This is the best way to search for books, eBooks, DVDs, eVideos etc. Search specifically using Advanced Search and choosing Campus & Format.

Using Electronic Resources (eBooks, eVideos & Databases requires logging in. Logging in to Valencia electronic resources other ways than through Atlas requires using your Valencia Student Identification number (your “V” number including the “V”) plus your PIN (the last 4 digits of your “V” number). You may also need to select Valencia from a drop-down menu.

The login button is found near the top right of the Online Catalog.

Click “Databases A-Z” or “Databases by Subject” to select your database.

Clicking the database links within this guide without logging into Atlas will require you to log in using your VID.

History Databases

History Reference Center offers full text from more than 750 history reference books and encyclopedias, and cover-to-cover full text from nearly 60 history magazines. The database also contains 58,000 historical documents; 43,000 biographies of historical figures; more than 12,000 historical photos and maps; and 87 hours of historical film and video.

 

American History has information from the explorers of the Americas to the gripping issues in today’s headlines, American History investigates the people, events, and stories of our nation’s evolution.

African American Experience is the definitive research tool for African American history and culture. This database is a good starting point for researching any topics dealing with race.

Daily Life Through History provides content from a vast number of reference works, monographs, and primary documents. Based on the landmark Greenwood Encyclopedia of Daily Life, Greenwood Daily Life Online is supported by an active publishing program to ensure an ever-expanding and updated content base.

World at War provides access to authoritative reference content, pertinent primary sources, and a wealth of historical insight and analysis on the important themes and consequences of all major U.S.-involved wars, from the founding of the country to the present.

Multi-Disciplinary Databases

Academic Search Complete Button

Academic Search Complete is a multi-disciplinary database with access to articles from many different disciplines, including hundreds of history periodicals and resources.

 

JSTOR Button

JSTOR provides access to back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Over 700 titles available, including numerous historical periodicals with coverage dating back to a hundred years or more.

 

Opposing Viewpoints ~ Gale In Context

Opposing Viewpoints ~ Gale in Context is an online database for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. It features continuously updated viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to web sites.

Specialized Databases

Biography ~ Gale In Context Button

Biography ~ Gale in Context provides an online experience for those seeking contextual information on the world's most influential people. The new solution merges Gale's authoritative reference content (including Lives & Perspectives) with periodicals and multimedia organized into a user-friendly portal experience while also allowing users to search for people based on name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, or gender as well as keyword and full text.

 

 

Search Terms

When searching the library catalog or databases for resources relating to your controversial topic, try the following searches:

United States Revolution

United States Revolutionary War

American Revolution

American Revolutionary War

United States Civil War

American Civil War

Confederation

Confederacy

Confeder* (* is a MAGIC key letting you get all forms of the word)

Slavery

For more specific results, try a more specific search using two of the search boxes such as:

Confederation AND United States

Confederation AND United States AND Strengths

Confederation AND United States AND Weakness*

Slavery AND United States NOT Modern

Pocahontas AND Impact or Importance or Affect

Paul Revere AND Revolution

American Civil War AND Europe