Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Theater (McCabe)- Theater and Society: Databases

A guide to help students complete library research in Professor McCabe's Theater class at the Osceola Campus.

Accessing Databases

To access the databases to the right, log into your Atlas account and click the "Search the Library" link on the right side of the "My Courses" tab. Once the library catalog opens, you will see the "Databases A-Z" Link in the top center of the page, above the search box. Then find the database you want in the alphabetical list, and connect.

If the library is accessed through Atlas, there is no need to login again.

You can also access databases by using your Borrower ID (your VID number; including the V) and PIN (the last four digits of your VID number).  You can select a databse from the Alphabetical or Subject list.  Click the icon below to log into the library's databases using your borrower ID and PIN.

Library page login

 

Clicking the database links within this guide without logging into Atlas will require you to log in using your VID.

Literature Databases

The following databases will help you find definitions for literary terms and obsolete words,  author biographies, plot summaries, literary criticisms, full-text of many works of literature and more:

 

Image result for artemis literary sources

Artemis Literary Sources provides students and other researchers with single-search access to an assortment of traditional literary reference works, critical information on authors and their works, current journal articles, and other additional resources. Full-text access to biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline.

 

 

 

Literary Reference Center Plus is a full text database that includes plot summaries, overviews, literary criticism, author biographies, literary journal articles, book reviews, author interviews, images, and full text poems, short stories, and novels.

 

 

Literature Criticism Online is the online archive of Contemporary Literary Criticism, which is also available in the Reference section of the Osceola Campus Library.

 

Multi-Disciplinary Databases

http://www.ebscohost.com/prod-mastheads/FilmandTVLitIndexFT_Masthead_Web.png

Film & Television Literature Index  is a comprehensive bibliographic and full-text database covering the entire spectrum of television and film.  It includes Variety movie reviews from 1914 to present and over 36,300 images from the MPTV Image Archive.

 

 

 

 

Films on Demand is a database of streaming video from large and small production companies covering a wide range of subjects including documentaries, television broadcasts, educational films, and more.

 

History Databases

History Reference Center offers full text from more than 750 history reference books and encyclopedias, and cover-to-cover full text from nearly 60 history magazines. The database also contains 58,000 historical documents; 43,000 biographies of historical figures; more than 12,000 historical photos and maps; and 87 hours of historical film and video.

 

American History has information from the explorers of the Americas to the gripping issues in today’s headlines, American History investigates the people, events, and stories of our nation’s evolution.

 

Daily Life Through History provides content from a vast number of reference works, monographs, and primary documents. Based on the landmark Greenwood Encyclopedia of Daily Life, Greenwood Daily Life Online is supported by an active publishing program to ensure an ever-expanding and updated content base.

Librarian Osceola Campus

Jenna Settles's picture
Jenna Settles
Contact:
Osceola Campus
407-582-4853